homepage logo

Emmetsburg Native Named To Iowa Wrestling Hall Of Fame

By Staff | Mar 27, 2018

HAMILTON?TO?BE?HONORED - Former Emmetsburg E-Hawk wrestling standout Steve Hamilton, pictured during his collegiate career at Iowa State University, will be enshrined in the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame in June of this year. Hamilton was a two-time state champion for Emmetsburg High School during his prep wrestling career. -- submitted photo

A former Emmetsburg prep wrestling standout will be inducted into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame next month. Steve Hamilton will join Emmetsburg native Jeff Kerber and former Emmetsburg coaches Bob Roethler and Bob Kenny in the Hall of Fame during the 49th annual Hall of Fame Induction ceremonies, which will take place Monday, April 9, in Cresco.

Hamilton will join three other individuals being inducted into the state’s wrestling hall of fame, including Shane Light, Kirk Myers and Lennie Zalesky.

Steve Hamilton was a two-time state champion wrestling for the Emmetsburg E-Hawks, graduating in 1988. He then went on to become a four-time All American Wrestler at Iowa State University.

As a college competitor, Hamilton was known as one of the top wrestlers in Iowa State history. He was one of six Cyclone wrestlers to earn All-America honors four times, competing from 1988 to 1992. Wrestling at 158 pounds during his freshman and sophomore years, he placed seventh and third, respectively. Hamilton dropped down to 150 pounds during his junior and senior campaign. Hamilton was voted ISU’s Most Valuable Wrestler as a junior and senior, graduating in 1992 with a Bachelor’s Degree in History.

Following graduation from ISU, Hamilton joined the coaching staff of Coach Mark Manning at the University of Northern Iowa for three years and then followed Manning to the University of Nebraska for two years before moving to the University of Tennessee-Chattanooga before becoming Bluejay head coach in 2007, a position he kept through the 2011, after which he left to continue his coaching career in Georgia and then returning to high school coaching.


In addition to his coaching stints, Hamilton was victorious at the Olympic Trials South and the Michigan International Open. He placed fifth at the 1995 Grand Prix Slovakia, and he took second and third at the Sunkist Open in 1993 and 1994, respectively. Hamilton was a member of the 1993 U.S. Freestyle Team after placing third at the World Team Trials. He also placed fifth at the U.S. Nationals in 1993 and eighth in 1994.

Being inducted into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame, Hamilton will join fellow E-Hawk alumnus Jeff Kerber, a 2007 inductee, as well as former E-Hawk wrestling Coach Bob Roethler, who was inducted in 2010, and former E-Hawk Coach Bob Kenny, who was inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2013.

The induction ceremonies are set for 6:30 p.m. Monday, April 9, at the Cresco Country Club in Cresco. A social hour will precede the induction ceremonies at 5:30 p.m.

The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame’s sole purpose is the promotion of amateur wrestling in Iowa. The IWHOF has a rich history of honoring native Iowans at the annual awards banquet and induction ceremonies. The inaugural induction ceremonies were held in 1970 and with the Class of 2018, a total of 129 outstanding Iowans will have been enshrined and recognized for their contributions to amateur wrestling in Iowa.

For more information on the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame, go to: