homepage logo

Titan Wrestlers Win DeLeon Invitational Tourney

By Staff | Dec 21, 2017

BRITT – Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire’s Titan wrestlers earned the team championship at last Saturday’s Al DeLeon Invitational Tournament.

The Titans earned three individual championships, three runner-up finishes, five third place finishes and a pair of fourth place finishes on the day.

At 132 pounds, Lucas Hoffman earned first place after an 11-3 decision, a 1:30 win by fall, a :44 win by fall and a :06 win by fall before pinning Andrew Barber of West Hancock in 1:19 to win the title.

Kolton Roth took first at 138 pounds with a 1:17 win by fall, a 1:35 win by fall, a 1:33 win by fall, a 1:43 win by fall and earned the titles with a 3:03 win by fall over Brett Meyer of Sumner-Fredericksburg.

Also placing first was Spencer Roth at 152 pounds, after he received a pair of byes and then tallied a 2:51 win by fall and a 3:24 win by fall before pinning Ethan Wood of Sumner-Fredricksburg in 3:39 to win his title.

At 106 pounds, Cade Stearns lost his opener in a 4-2 decision, but came back to score a 13-1 Major Decision and a 12-9 decision before earning a 1:21 win by fall and finished second over Garret Heagel of Central Springs in a 4:34 win by fall.

Justin Buettner would start at 113 pounds with a 14-7 decision win and a :39 win by fall before losing a 5-4 decision. Buettner then lost a 10-9 decision, but received a bye to finish second.

Also finishing second at 220 pounds was Cade Steelman who earned a 4:52 win by fall but would lose a 7-3 decision before earning a 4:42 win by fall and a 3:19 win by fall. In the second place match, Steelman pinned Damion Miller of Okoboji in :34 for the runner-up title.

Hunter Naig finished third at 126 after being pinned in 1:13 to start and then earning two byes before being pinned in 1:09, but coming back to score a 3:43 win by fall over Sam Mason of Central Springs for third.

At 160 Nate Larson was pinned in 4:49 but received two byes before losing a sudden victory 5-3 decision, but came back to earn a 10-6 decision win over Dylan Marker of Central Springs to finish third.

Carter Murray, wrestling at 182, won a 15-3 Major Decision but was pinned in 3:10 before earning a 1:06 win by fall and receiving an injury default win. For third place, Murray would lose an 11-1 Major Decision to Zach Ryg of Central Springs to finish third.

At 195 pounds, Blake Miller was pinned in 3:22, but won a 7-3 decision and scored a 4:29 win by fall before being pinned in 3:08. Miller then earned a 2:28 win by fall over Josh Stromer of West Hancock to finish third.

Kyle Rehm, wrestling at 285 pounds, started with a bye but was pinned in :56 and then pinned in :14 before receiving a bye and then earning a 3:35 win by fall over Garrett Funk of Okoboji to finish third.

At 120 pounds, Brock Grim lost a 15-5 Major Decision and then received a bye before losing a 5-1 decision and losing a 7-1 decision. Grimm would then earn a 13-7 decision over Kael Glenn of Sumner-Fredricksburg to place fourth.

Blake Schany would place fourth at 145 pounds after being pinned in 5:54 before taking a :40 win by fall and a bye. Schany would lose a 6-3 decision and was pinned in 2:00 by Lucas Garl of Central Springs to finish fourth.

Rounding out the finishes was Alex Long at 220 pounds, as he lost a 7-0 decision and then earned a :30 win by fall before being pinned in 4:42 and then injury defaulted his final two matches to place fifth.