homepage logo

Henricksen Claims Men’s Open Title

By Staff | Jul 27, 2017

MEN’S?OPEN?CHAMPIONSHIP?FOURSOME - The Men’s Open at the Five Island Golf Course saw these four golfers claim the top four placings on Saturday, July 22. From left to right are Men’s Open Champ Tyson Henrickson, Runner up Tyler Tiffany, third place finisher Marc Riley and four place finisher Jay Karsean. -- Jane Whitmore photo

It would take a four-hole playoff to set the final finishes for the 2017 Men’s Open at the Five Island Golf Course in Emmetsburg on Saturday. But when all was said and done, a familiar face stood at the top of the leaderboard for the championship.

Graettinger native Tyson Hendrickson would shoot an 18-hole round of 65 and then carded a championship round of 32 to win the Open with a 97 stroke total.

Runner-up honors went to Tyler Tiffany with his round of 68 and a 34 to tally a 102, edging Emmetsburg native son Marc Riley, who shot a 67 and a 35 for a 102, but was edged out in the four-hole playoff for second. Finishing fourth in the championship was Jay Karsean, who shot a 72 and a 32 for a 104 stroke total.

Tayler Wegener would win the Second Flight with a 76, and was followed by Luke Jackson with a 76 and Ben Peterson with a 76.

Winning the Third Flight was Brian Hellickson, with BT Buhrow finishing second and Marcus Burch finishing in third.

The Senior Division of the tournament was won by Maurice Greenway with a 71, while Steve Prather was second with a 72. Steve Brock was third with a 74 and Jed Beschorner was fourth with a 74.

Second Flight winner was Monty Whitacre, with Jim Haub placing second and Ted Riley finishing third.

The Super Senior Division was won by Julian Erickson with a 72, while John Hand was second with a 73. John Owen was third with a 73 and George Heldt finished fourth with a 73.

Flight results are as follows:


Tyson Henrickson 65-32 97 – FIRST

Marc Riley 67-35 102* – Third

Troy Lavrenz 67-38 105

Tyler Tiffany 68-34 102*- Second

Wade Whitacre 69-48 110

Michael Pugh 70-36 106

Neil Riedemann 72-37 109

Wiley Whitacre 73-37 110

Jay Karsean 72-32 104 – Fourth

Clayton Freeman 72-41 113

Matt Wellik 75-40-115

* – Four hole playoff


Tayler Wegener 76

Luke Jackson 76

Ben Petersen 76

Chad Gerardy 76

Roger Mann 77

Dustin Finer 78

Taylor Strube 78

Steve Brown 78

Scott Brown 78

Jeff O’Brien 78

Ben McCain 78

Nate Kliegl 79


Brian Hellickson

BT Buhrow

Marcus Busch

Troy Lavrenz

Ron Hyman

Miles Utley

Andrew Wellik

Matt Wirtz

Kevin Fahnlander

Kent Wegener

Jordan Cody

Pat Genereau

Brady Heddinger

Jesse Jeer

Seth Freeman

Michael Gunderson

Al Mayland


Maurice Greenway 71

Steve Prather 72

Steve Brock 74

Jed Beschorner 74

Roger Faulstick 76

Rich Stillman 77

Dave Zimmerman 77

Brian Cluver 78

Bill Logan 79

Greg Hoekstra 79

Jim Redemske 81

Jr. Walker 81

Steve Stroud 82

John Bird 82

Rod Toftey 84

Second Flight

Monty Whitacre

Jim Haub

Ted Riley

Jim Crawford

Larry Ruppert

Steve Finer

John Heddinger

Dave Snyder

Paul Duhn

Bill Huberty

John Brown

Pat Schmacher

John Daisy

Joe Thompson

Bill Boblit


Julian Erickson 72

John Hand 73

John Owen 73

George Heldt 73

Gene Enger 75

Duane Twait 77

Jim Wagner 77

Don Froehlich 79

Harold Wente 79

Bill Brennan 79

John Larson 80

Tom Arndorfer 80

Bill Ortman 81

Vern Enger 82

Mike Hermansen 83

Gene Myers 84

LeRoy Walker, Sr. 89