homepage logo

E-Hawk Thinclads Earn Fifth Place Finish Fifth At Humboldt

By Staff | Apr 19, 2016

HUMBOLDT – Emmetsburg’s E-Hawks earned a fifth place finish in action at the Humboldt Quad Thursday.

Leading the way for the E-Hawks was senior Nick Grandstaff with his second place effort in the high jump, where he cleared 5’8″, while teammate Connor Joyce cleared 5′ to finish tied for fifth. AJ?Krieg took third in the long jump, leaping 18’9″, while teammate Ethan Berven was eighth with a leap of 17’5.5″.

In the shot put, Max Dunlap was sixth with a throw of 38’6″ ad Nick Schany placed eighth with a throw of 36′. Jacob Myers earned seventh in the discus, throwing 102.3″ and Kyle Licht was ninth in the discus with a throw of 91’6″.

The 4×100 relay, comprised of Ethan Berven, Grant Deitering, AJ?Krieg and Brent Wesley earned third place with a :46.30 clocking, while the Distance Medley quartet of Aaron Hutchison, Brent Wesley, Carson Clark and Dawson Carlson also earned third place honors with a 4:13.70 effort.

The 4×400 relay of Nick Grandstaff, Cruz Bowman, Chris Nichols and Blake VerMulm took third place in 4:01.93 while the Shuttle Hurdle relay of Dalton Connelly, Connor Joyce, Clayton Swanson and Grant Deitering took fourth place with a 1:08.45 clocking.

Also finishing fourth was the 4×800 relay of Zach Yates, Thatcher Whitney, Adam Deitering and Chris Nichols with their time of 10:40.60.

Nick Grandstaff earned fourth in the 1600 meter run with a 5:07.62 time and Cruz Bowman was fifth in 5:15.76. Dalton Connelly would earn sixth in the 110 hurdles with an :18.64 time and then took sixth in the 400 hurdles with a 1:05.65 clocking, while Connor Joyce was eighth in a time of 1:13.32.

The E-Hawk Junior Varsity thinclads also competed on Thursday and had several top finishes in their division.

Adam Deitering won the 800 meter run in 2:218.01, while Tanner Lundgren took first place in the 1600 meter run with a time of 5:41.73. Takoda Harris would earn third in the 1600 meters with his time of 5:50.99.

Zach Yates earned first place in the high jump, clearing 5′ to win the competition.

The 4×400 relay of Zach Yates, Kyle Licht, Thatcher Whitney and Tanner Lundgren earned second place with a time of 4:29.80, while the 4×100 relay of Corbin Saathoff, Drew Walker, Alex Gramowski and Nick Schany took third in :54.34.

The JV Distance Medley finished third in 4:43.07 with the foursome of Drew Walker, Jacob Myers, Clayton Swanson and Spencer Griffin and the 4×200 relay foursome of Ethan Berven, Carson Clark, Corbin Saathoff and Blake VerMulm took third with a 1:45.91 clocking.

Spencer Griffin would earn second place in the 400 meter dash with a time of 1:01.59, while Bryce Moen finished sixth with a 1:14.24 effort.

Max Dunlap took fifth in the 100 meter dash in :13.98, while Nick Krieg was eighth in :14.50. In the 200 meter dash, Bryce Moen was eight in :30.07 and Alex Gramowski was 11th in ;:32.27.

Nick Krieg would earn ninth place in the shot put, throwing the orb 30’8.5″ and teammate Aidan Leuer took tenth place with a throw of 29’10”. Alex Gramowski would finish 11th in the JV?discus, throwing the platter 64’5″.