homepage logo

Emmetsburg Swimmers Part Of Algona Area Swim Team

By Staff | Aug 27, 2015

With the Fall sports seasons at hand, Emmetsburg also has three student athletes involved in swimming with the Algona Area High School Swim Team.

This season, three girls from Emmetsburg are joining forces with swimmers from Algona, Bishop Garrigan and Estherville Lincoln Central to comprise the Algona Swim Team for high school competition.

Emmetsburg Seniors Laura Moser and Olivia Hampe will be joined by junior Michelle Goodman in competing on the Algona squad, which is coached by Jim Fisher, who is in his 12th year of coaching.

“The team is hoping to some some improvement in our dual schedule,” Fisher noted. “We have 16 new swimmers on the squad this year, so we are a young team. I’m hoping some of these freshmen step up right away to make us a stronger team.”

The squad will have several returning letterwinners, starting with seniors Connor Yi in the butterfly and freestyle events; Casey Harms in the backstroke and 500 meter freestyle and Emily McMahon in the freestyle event.

Also returning are juniors Jessica Anderson in the breaststroke and freestyle; Cam Shaw in the backstroke and 200 individual medley; Morgan Lahndorf in the 500 freestyle and Bridget Finley in the backstroke and 100 freestyle.

Several sophomores will also play into the picture, including Alexa Gilbert in the breastroke; Kali Garman in the butterfly; Brianna Birkeland in the butterfly and 200 freestyle, Kirsten Natterstad in the 200 IM and 500 freestyle and Maggie Nitchels in the breaststroke.

“Other swimmers who will contribute for us this season will be Ashley Willie, Michelle Goodman, Laura Moser, Olivia Hampe, Savannah Wilson, Zian Nicholas, Laura Stowater and Layah DeLange,” Fisher noted.

Last season’s squad earned a second place in the Charles City Invitational and Des Moines North Invitational and finished eighth at the Regional swim meet.

As in past years, Algona does not swim in a conference, but follows an independent schedule against other area teams. Among those teams will be Spencer, Mason City and Fort Dodge.