homepage logo

E-Hawks Finish Sixth In Lakes Wrestling Tourney

By Staff | Feb 4, 2014

GET?THE?TAKEDOWN - E-Hawk Tanner Lundgren works for the trip and takedown over Donnie Allaway of LeMars in the 106 pound title match at the Lakes Conference Tournament Friday night. -- Dan Voigt photo

SPENCER – Emmetsburg’s E-Hawk wrestlers earned sixth place overall in Friday’s Lakes Conference Tournament, and earned 10 placings in the event. Spencer would claim the tournament title at the end of the night’s wrestling.

For the E-Hawks, the top finish would come from Tanner Lundgren at 106 pounds, as the freshman finished second after being pinned in 5:51 of the finals match by LeMars’ Donnie Allaway. Lundgren had received a first-round bye and then pinned Daniel Wilkerson of Spencer in 3:01 to earn his finals berth and second place finish.

Dillon VanOosbree would earn third place honors for the E-Hawks in action at 120 pounds. VanOosbree opened with a bye, but would come up short in a 2-0 decision loss to Gavin Kramer of Spirit Lake Park in the semi-finals. In the consolation semi-finals, VanOosbree pinned Neftali Castillo of Storm Lake in 5:44 and then went on to score a 13-11 decision victory over Easton Gifford of ELC to take the third place honors.

At 113 pounds, Carson Clark had a first round bye but was pinned in :20 by Cody Huckfeldt of Spencer to drop into the consolation round. Clark would earned a bye and move to the consolation finals, where he would lose a 12-0 Major Decision to Matthew Stines of Cherokee to finish fourth.

Also finishing fourth for the E-Hawks was Joey Lowman at 126 pounds. IN the opening round, Lowman pinned Clay Budach of ELC?in 3:15, but was pinned in 1:30 by Trevor Streuli of Spencer in the semi-finals. Lowman then pinned Alec Harrington of Spirit Lake Park in 5:01 to move to the consolation final, but would lose a 5-3 decision to Darren Eades of Storm Lake to finish fourth.

At 132 pounds, Jas Jamison drew a first-round bye, but would be pinned in 3:17 of his semi-final with Oscar Ramirez of ELC. Jamison came back to pine Matt Curry of Spencer in 3:50 of their consolation match, but in the consolation final, Ronald Duque of Storm Lake would earn a 7-3 decision win over Jamison to give the E-Hawk a fourth place finish.

At 138 pounds, Chris VanHeuvelen drew a first round bye, but fall victim to a 2:28 fall at the hands of Levi Gilmore of Spencer in the semis. VanHeuvelen, would bounce back to earn a 9-3 decision over Mason Weiler of LeMars but in the consolation final, came up short in a 9-5 decision loss to Thomas Bortvit of ELC to take fourth place.

Gage Jamison, wrestling at 152 pounds, earned a 2:46 win by fall over Bazyl Horsey of Storm Lake in the opening round, but was the victim of a 21-2 Technical Fall in 3:51 of his match with Kenton Murray of Spirit Lake Park. Jamison would then go on to pin Isaac Lafleur of Cherokee in 1:50, but in the consolation final, Jamison was pinned in 1:210 by Andrew White of Spencer to finish fourth.

Also finishing fourth for the E-Hawks was Robert Nelson at 182 pounds. Nelson would open the tournament with a 9-2 decision loss to Mitchell Post of Western Christian, but he bounced back to score a 4:50 win by fall over Trevor Bueltel of Spirit Lake Park in the first round of consolation matches. Nelson would then earn an 11-8 decision win over Spencer’s Hunter Hurst to advance to the consolation final, but meeting up with his first-round opponent, Mitchell Hurst, Nelson would lose a 10-0 Major Decision to settle for the fourth place finish.

At 145 pounds, Caige Elbert would come home with a fifth place finish. Starting out against Spencer’s Adam Johnson, Elbert would come up short in a 9-4 decision loss. After drawing a bye in the first consolation round, Elbert lost a 5-2 decision to Cole Budach of ELC to move into the fifth place match, where he earned a win by fall in 3:59 over Cody Beck of LeMars for the fifth place finish.

Rounding out the placings for the E-hawks was Pat Brennan at 285 pounds. Brennan would be the victim of a 1:13 pin at the hands of Spencer’s Casey Severson in the opening round, but drew a bye in the first consolation round. Brennan would then be pinned in 1:32 by Storm Lake’s Nate Carlson to move into the fifth place match, but the E-Hawk would be awarded fifth place after a medical forfeit.

Also wrestling for the E-Hawks was Joe Schmidt at 160 pounds, In the opening round of matches, Schmidt was paired with David Trucksess of Spirit Lake Park, but was the victim of a 1:17 pin at the hands of Trucksess.

In the first round of consolation matches, Schmidt wrestled Dalton Christoffer of ELC. Schmidt would be pinned in 1:48 of the match to end his tournament.

The E-Hawks will now prepare for the Class 1A Sectional Tournament this Saturday, Feb. 4, at Okoboji High School in Milford, starting at 12 noon. The top two finishers in each weight advance to the District tournament on Feb. 11 in Sibley.