homepage logo

Area Gridders Earn INA All State Football Honors

By Staff | Nov 29, 2013

DES MOINES The Iowa Newspaper Association has announced its 2013 All-State Football selections, naming honorary captains in classes A, 1A, 2A, 3A, 4A and 8-Man.

A?total of eight Palo Alto County gridiron standouts earned recognition with their selections to the various All State Teams in Class 1A and Eight-Man.

Selection committees comprised of sportswriters from Iowa newspapers, received assistance and information from coaches from each of the six classifications for football as they gathered this past Sunday in Des Moines to consider nominated players for selection to the honor teams. A total of 28 sports writers and 19 coaches participated in Sunday’s selection meeting.

From Emmetsburg, four players were accorded All State recognition on the Class 1A Teams. Likewise, four players from West Bend-Mallard/Gilmore City-Bradgate were also named to the Eight-Man All State Teams following selection by the sportswriters.

Emmetsburg’s E-Hawks were recognized with a group of three seniors and a junior earning the All State Honors on the Class 1A All State Teams.

Senior Shay Mortenson was named a Defensive Back on the Class 1A First Team defense.

Junior Greg Wesley was selected as a Defensive Lineman on the Class 1A Second Team defense.

Senior Allen Jensen was chosen as a Back on the Class 1A Third Team Offense.

Rounding out the E-Hawk selections for 2013 was senior Joel Hoyman, who was selected as a lineman on the Class 1A Third Team Defense.

From West Bend-Mallard/Gilmore City-Bradgate, Senior Nathan Grimm was named to the Eight-Man First Team Defense as a linebacker, while senior teammate Jason Zinnel was named a First Team punter.

Senior Jesse Zinnel was named to the Eight-Mal Third Team as a quarterback, and sophomore Cole Banwart was named to the Eight-Man Third team defense as a lineman.