homepage logo

Former Coach To Be Inducted To Iowa Hall Of Fame

By Staff | Mar 28, 2013

CRESCO, – A former Emmetsburg wrestling coach is among two coaches and two wrestlers with diverse backgrounds who will be inducted into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame in Cresco on Monday, April 8. The 44th Annual Awards Banquet and Induction Ceremony will begin with a 5:30 social hour followed by a 6:30 banquet at the Cresco Country Club south of Cresco.
Bob Kenny of Mason City and formerly of Emmetsburg will join David Ripley of Charles City, Tolly Thompson of Cedar Falls and Jason Kelber of Valentine, NE. in becoming the 105th, 106th, 107th and 108th members inducted into the Hall since the first class was inducted in 1970.
Bob Kenny had an outstanding coaching career, his at Emmetsburg. Kenny’s teams won six state teams titles and two state dual meet titles while also being a runner-up in three other state tournaments. Kenny’s teams were 289-123-1. He had 88 state qualifiers and 56 place winners. He coached 12 wrestlers to state titles, 12 to second place finishes, 13 to third place finishes and 9 to fourth place finishes. Kenny came to Emmetsburg after a stint as wrestling coach at Estherville Lincoln Central High School.
Currently, Kenny serves as Activities Director and Assistant Principal at Mason City High School. He and his wife Sue are the parents of a son, Adam, and a daughter, Danielle.
Kenny joins another former Emmetsburg wrestling coach, Bob Roethler, in being inducted into the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame.
Also being inducted is David Ripley who serves as Riceville’s wrestling coach for 33 years. In those years Ripley’s teams won two state titles while also being a runner-up in both the state and dual meet tournaments. The Wildcat teams posted a record of 319-90-1 under Ripley’s tenure. Ripley coached 95 state qualifiers, 51 state place winners and 7 state champions. He was twice named Coach of the Year.
Tolly Thompson was a three-time NCAA All-American while capturing one NCAA championship for the University of Nebraska. The Janesville native twice placed second in the high school state tournament. Thompson further distinguished himself as he wrestled internationally for eight years after college. Thompson placed third at the 2005 World Championship at 120 kgs/265.5 lbs in Budapest Hungary. Along with the bronze at the World Cup, Thompson placed second at the Cerrod Pelado International and was the Dave Schultz Memorial International Champion.
Rounding out the inductees for 2013 is Jason Kelber, who wrestled for West Marshall High School in State Center, was a three-time state champion who went unbeaten his sophomore, junior and senior seasons (123-3 overall). Kelber also wrestled at the University of Nebraska where he was a 126 pound NCAA champion and a three-time all American.
Tickets for the banquet and induction ceremonies are available at the Cresco Chamber of Commerce (563-547-3434) and CIA Insurance in Cresco (563-547-2382). Advance registration is required.
The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame, which was remodeled and expanded in the past two months, will be open until 6:00 p.m. the day of the banquet.
The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame’s sole purpose is the promotion of amateur wrestling in Iowa. We have a rich history of honoring native Iowans at our annual awards banquet and induction ceremony. The Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame museum is located in the Cresco Welcome Center, at the intersection of Highway 9 and Elm Street. Visit the Iowa Wrestling Hall of Fame website at iowawrestlinghalloffame.com <iowawrestlinghalloffame.com