homepage logo

Track &?Field Season Opens At Indoor Meet

By Staff | Mar 27, 2012

LEADING?THE?PACK - Emmetsburg freshman Caroline Fantz took the lead with two laps to go in the 800 meter run at the Lakes indoor meet on Tuesday and won the event in a time of 2:47.15. The Lakes Conference Indoor Meet was held at the Lamberti Recreation Center at Buena Vista University in Storm Lake.

STORM LAKE The 2012 Track and Field season began March 20 for the Emmetsburg Lady E-Hawks and E-Hawks at the Lakes Conference Indoor Track Meet. No team points were kept in the event held at the Lamberti Recreation Center on the campus of Buena Vista University.

Emmetsburg athletes turned in several good times and performances in the event, showing lots of promise for the upcoming track and field campaign.

The event started out solidly for the Lady E-Hawks with freshman Caroline Fantz winning the girls 800 meter run in a time of 2:47.15. Also competing in the event for the Lady E-Hawks were Taylor Reimer with a time of 2:52.69, along with Maura Soukup with a time of 2:55.95 and Tara Harris with her time of 3:07.09.

In the shot put, the E-Hawks were led by the 42’2.5″ throw of Andrew Garrelts, good for fifth place. Arik Kerr was close behind in sixth place with a throw of 42’1″ and Jake Hutchinson was eighth with a throw of 40″4.5″. In the Junior Varsity competition, Pat Brennan threw the shot 34’4.75″ to finish 11th in the division.

The girls shot put saw Jacque Carlson come away with a throw of 28’5.5″ to finish 11th in the varsity, with teammate Emily Noll throwing 28’5″ to place 12th. In the girls’ long jump, Emily Bonnstetter placed fourth in the JV portion of the event with a leap of 13’9″. In the varsity competition, Rachel Ruddy finished eighth with a jump of 13’7.5″ and Alexa Naig was ninth with her leap of 13’2.5″.

For the boys 55-meter shuttle hurdle relay, Emmetsburg’s varsity squad, comprised of Chad Loomis, Allen Jensen, Clayton Henderson and Cody Henderson, turned in a time of :37.41 to win the event. The JV shuttle hurdle relay would turn in a time of :40.09.

The 4×200 relay with Brady Berkland, Tony Henson, Cody Henderson and Andrew Wellik, turned in a time of 1:39.44 and the quartet of Aaron Bird, Clayton Henderson, Shay Mortenson and Brady Christensen would finish with a 1:42.43. The 4×200 relay with Brandon Elbert, Greg Wesley, Zach Anderson and Jacob Kibbie finished with a time of 1:48.67.

In the boys’ 4×400 relay, Clayton Henderson, Brandon Elbert, Joel Hoyman and Brady Christensen finished with a 4:12.72 clocking and the quartet made up of Shay Mortenson, Brady Berkland, Chad Loomis and Andrew Wellik finished with a 3:44.87 clocking.

The Lady E-Hawks’ 4×400 relay, comprised of Mikki Mundus, Taylor Knight, Cassidy Clark and Caroline Fantz, finished with a time of 4:57.37 to finish second in their division. In the 4×200 relay, the foursome of Alyson Berven Cassidy Clark, Alexa Naig and Ashton Connelly finished with a 2:05.75 clocking and the quartet of Emily Bonnstetter, Mikki Mundus, Madison Reimer and Rachel Ruddy finished with a time of 2:05.98.

Emily Bonnstetter would run the 200 meter dash, finishing with a time of :30.02, while Mikki Mundus would finish with a time of :32.10, while Madison Reimer finished with a :32.53 clocking and Rachel Ruddy added a time of :33.87, with Hayley Gore-Harris turning in a time of :35.40.

Alexa Naig would turn in a time of :11.18 in the 55 meter hurdle event while in the 55-meter dash, Alyson Berven finished with an :08.47 time. Following right behind were Rachel Ruddy with an :08.52, Taylor Knight with an :08.54 and Madison Reimer with an :08.74, while Hayley Gore-Hanson finished with a :09.51 clocking.

Austin Lietz finished the 1600 meter run in a time of 5:25.18 while Wesley Brennan would finish with a 5:51.18 effort and Daniel VanOosbree was clocked in at 6:52.15. In the 55 meter hurdles, Cody Henderson finished with a time of :08.14 and Allen Jensen was clocked in at :08.70. In the 200 meter dash, Tony Henson finished with a time of :26.64, while Brady Berkland finished in :24.90 and Andrew Wellik was clocked in at :25.36. Daniel VanOosbree finished the 800 meter run in 2:44.62, while Wesley Brennan finished in 2:35.98 and Joel Hoyman finished in 2:39.98. Austin Lietz finished in 2:26.11 and Shay Mortenson turned in a time of 2:36.50 to round out the E-Hawk efforts in the 800.

The 55 meter dash would see Aaron Bird finish with a :07.44 clocking and Brady Christensen turned in a time of :07.13.

The Lady E-Hawks and E-Hawks will open the outdoor season tonight(Tuesday) when they travel to Spirit Lake for the KUOO?Invitational. Then on Thursday, the thinclads will travel to Spencer for the annual Earlybird meet. Both meets start at 4:30 p.m.