homepage logo

Cornbelt Names Post Season Basketball Honorees

By Staff | Mar 6, 2012

Several girls and boys from West Bend-Mallard/Gilmore City-Bradgate and Ruthven-Ayrshire/Graettinger-Terril have earned post-season accolades with selection to the 2012 Cornbelt Conference All Conference Teams. Balloting for the elite teams was completed recently by the coaches of the Cornbelt teams.

For the Lady Wolverines of WBM/GCB, Sarah Berte was named to the First Team All Conference squad, while Kayla Banwart earned Second Team honors and Kaylee Lempke earned Honorable Mention honors.

The Raiders of RA/GT would place Alesha Sikora on the Second Team unit for her play during the season.

On the boys side, Ruthven-Ayrshire/Graettinger-Terril placed Austin Dyer on the Second Team All Conference unit while Mitch Girres was accorded Honorable Mention honors for the Raiders.

West Bend-Mallard/Gilmore City-Bradgate’s Chris Schmidt was named to the First Team All Conference squad by the league coaches, while twin threats Jason Zinnel and Jesse Zinnel were both named to the Second Team unit for the Wolverines. Jordan Buhs as accorded Honorable Mention recognition by the conference coaches for the Wolverines to round out the selections.

The complete girls and boys Cornbelt All Conference Teams are listed as follows:

Cornbelt Conference

All Conference Girls

First Team

Sarah Berte, SR, West Bend-Mallard/GCB

Kelsey Gerhard, SR, NSK/AR

Emily Jobst, JR, Clay Central-Everly

Tori Johnson, SR, NSK/AR

Noreen Morrow, SO, Harris-Lake Park

Emily Matthews, SO, Ventura

Second Team

Kayla Banwart, JR, West Bend-Mallard/GCB

Macy Gunderson, SO, Harris-Lake Park

Collete Haag, JR, NSK/AR

Maggie Ludwig, SR, Corwith-Wesley-LuVerne

Blair Montgomery, SO, Clay Central-Everly

Alesha Sikora, SR, Ruthven-Ayrshire/Graettinger/Terril

Honorable Mention

Heather Busch, JR, Clay Central-Everly

Mariah Gath, JR, Harris-Lake Park

Kaylee Lempke, SR, West Bend-Mallard/GCB

Harley Lindell, SR, NSK/AR

Emily Spillman, SR, Ventura

Final Standings

North Sentral Kossuth/Armstrong-Ringsted 12-0

West Bend-Mallard/Gilmore City-Bradgate10-2

Ventura 7-5

Clay Central-Everly 6-6

Harris-Lake Park 6-6


Coach of the Year: Eugene Ruppert, WBM/GCB

Cornbelt Conference

All Conference Boys

First Team

Eli Ihnen, JR, Harris-Lake Park

Travis Larson, SR, NSK/AR

Brady Nissen, SR, Harris-Lake Park

Chris Schmidt, SR, West Bend-Mallard/GCB

Jared Schoelerman, SR, Clay Central-Everly

Joel Toppin, SO, Ventura

Second Team

Austin Dyer, JR, Ruthven-Ayrshire/Graettinger-Terril

Evan Hagebock, SR, NSK/AR

Kade Heikens, JR, Harris-Lake Park

Tanner Hiveley, JR, Harris-Lake Park

Jason Zinnel, SO, West Bend-Mallard/GCB

Jesse Zinnel, SO, West Bend-Mallard/GCB

Honorable Mention

Jordan Buhs, SO, West Bend-Mallard/GCB

Mitch Girres, SR, Ruthven-Ayrshire/Graettinger-Terril

Josh Hilbert, JR, Corwith-Wesley-LuVerne

Zack Hurlburt, SR, NSK/AR

Joel Watson, SR, Ventura

Final Standings

Harris-Lake Park 12-0

North Sentral-Kossuth/Armstrong-Ringsted 8-4

West Bend-Mallard/Gilmore City-Bradgate 8-4

Ruthven-Ayrshire/Graettinger-Terril 5-7

Ventura 5-7

Clay Central-Everly 4-8


Coach of the Year: Jeff Sohn, Harris-Lake Park