homepage logo

Season Winding Down At Emmetsburg Raceway

By Staff | Aug 25, 2011

With the 2011 season rolling to a close, Point Champions will be decided this weekend at the Emmetsburg Raceway. The facility is located at the Palo Alto County Fairgrounds in Emmetsburg.

The points battle has created some great kart racing through the season at the track. In the Rookie division, Joe Bonnstetter of Cylinder is leading with Owen Sidles of Milford in second and Larissa Miller from Marcus in third, place. Any one of the three could grab the title.

Emma Sidles of Milford and Davin Brugman from Peterson round out the top five in the class.

In the Junior One class, title hopefuls are Rebecca Bonnstetter of Cylinder, who leads the class with Kolten Long, also of Cylinder, close behind in second place. Dayton Bruggman from Peterson is solid ly in third and is followed in fourth place by Nate Krug from Estherville and Weston Long out of Cylinder in fifth.

The Junior Two class has Jessie Miller from Marcus leading the pack with second through fifth place changing every race. Coming into the season championship, Nate Harris from Graettinger is second, while Cody Bonnstetter of Belmond holds down third place. Emmetsburg’s Brian Wickman is fourth and is followed by Tristen Vesterby of Webster City in the fifth place.

The only class that has been decided point-wise is the Adult Medium class, with Brian Nellis of Fort Dodge having the title on ice. Second place is Chris Mammen of Emmetsburg, with Steve Wickman of Emmetsburg in third and Andrew Clause of Spencer in fourth, with Travis Mitchell from Estherville in fifth place.

The 390lb. Animal class has Chuck Nattress from Newell showing the way and he is followed by Jon Ellerbrock, also of Newell, and Austin Bonnstetter of Cylinder in third place. Shane and Brett Graybill from Cherokee hold down the fourth and fifth places in the class.

Rounding out the classes are the Renegades, with point leader Bill Grandegenett of Algona. Currently sharing second place are Tony Cink and Tom Cink, both of Algona, Matt Kirsch from Wesley and Kent Haugland from Crystal Lake hold down fourth and fifth place in the class.

Emmetsburg Raceway has averaged over 40 carts per race and have had huge crowds all season long.

This Sunday’s races will be Sponsor and fan Appreciation Day where a big “Thank You”?is sent out to the racers and fans, with pizza being served after the races.

Absent on the point sheet are the Putt-putts, who do not race for points, but race for trophies and experience. Competitors are Zayn Feaster of Dakota City, Andrew Hohensee of Emmetsburg, Daylana Bruggman of Peterson, Dylen Wickman of Bancroft, Tyler Crimmins of Fort Dodge, Makalie Koffron from Carroll, Maycie Baker of Sutherland and Braiden Swanson from Humboldt.

The season will conclude Sept 18th with 3rd Annual Luck o the Irish Fall Fling.

Races start at 1:00 p.m. with hot laps at 12:30 on both Sunday’s Season Championship and on Sunday, Sept. 18 at Emmetsburg Raceway.