homepage logo

Lady E-Hawks Earn All Conference Honors

By Staff | Jul 14, 2011

A quartet of Emmetsburg Lady E-Hawks earned post season honors with selection to the Lakes Conference All Conference Softball Teams for the 2011 season.

Senior Morgan Vlasman and junior Faith Schmidt earned First Team selection, while senior Hillary Pico and junior Aly Berven were named to roster spots on the Second Team unit following balloting by the league’s coaches.

Additionally, Vlasman and Schmidt were also named All District performers as well on the basis of their play this season for the Lady E-Hawks.

Emmetsburg Coach Travis Birkey was also named Co-Coach of the Year in the conference along with Estherville Lincoln Central’s Megan Anderson..

The complete 2011 Lakes Conference All Conference Honor Teams are as follows:



Faith Schmidt,11, Emmetsburg

Kendall Bosch, 11, Estherville Lincoln Central

Jordan Heidebrink*, 12, LeMars


Morgan Schichtl, 12, Estherville Lincoln Central

Kayla Gesink, 12, Western Christian

First Base:

Morgan Vlasman, 12, Emmetsburg


Emily Kirchner, 10, Estherville Lincoln Central

Paige Krause, 10, Spirit Lake

Erica Westhoff, 12, LeMars

Jasmine VanderZwaag, 10, Western Christian


Alli Gerking*, 12, Spirit Lake

Emily Ellefson, 10, LeMars

Ashley Weston, 12, Estherville Lincoln Central

Sadie Winter, 11, Estherville Lincoln Central

Ashley Phelan, 10, LeMars


Abby Horstman, 12, Western Christian



Melissa Gjerde, 12, Estherville Lincoln Central


Emily Mercer, 11, Spirit Lake

First Base:

Taylor Lago, 10, Estherville Lincoln Central


Aly Berven, 11, Emmetsburg

Macy Dahl, 10, Estherville Lincoln Central

Erin Kommes, 10, LeMars


Hillary Pico, 12, Emmetsburg

Mariah Lammers, 12, Western Christian

Alissa Christoffer, 10, Spirit Lake


Madison Heidebrink, 9, LeMars

Taylor Anderson, 10, Spencer

Megan Thompson, 12, Storm Lake

Co-Coaches of the Year

Travis Birkey, Emmetsburg

Megan Anderson, Estherville Lincoln Central

* – Indicates Unanimous Selection

Lakes Conference Final Team Standings

Emmetsburg 12-2 28-7

Estherville Lincoln Central 12-2 21-11

LeMars 11-3 21-12

Western Christian 7-7 14-9

Spirit Lake6-820-14



Storm Lake0-142-21