homepage logo

WBM/TRV Thinclads Run Well At Cornbelt Conference Track Meet

By Staff | May 10, 2011

WEST?BEND – The Cornbelt Conference Track meet proved to be a good outing for both the girls and boys track squads of West Bend-Mallard/Twin River Valley. The Lady Wolverines claimed the league girls title for the third year in a row while the Wolverines earned a third place finish in the highly competitive meet.

Lady Wolverines

With wins in eight events at the conference meet for the Lady Wolverines, the three-peat of the conference title was assured.

Starting the winning train for the Lady Wolverines was the 4×100 relay of Shayla Simms, Meredith Collins, Kaley Lempke and Kenzie Grimm, who actually started at the wrong spot on the track and could not receive an official time, but received the first place points anyhow.

The 4×200, with the same quartet as the 4×100 also took first place with a time of 1:51.73 and the 4×800 relay, with Sarah Berte, Kaylee Lanus, Holly Mathews and Erin Larson, finished first with a time of 11:37.68.

Also finishing in first place was Jessica Abrahamson in the discus with a throw of 102’5″ and a throw of 36’11.75″?in the shot put for first place. Kaley Lempke was first in the 100 meter dash with a :13.38 clocking and Kenzie Grimm took first in the 200 meter dash with a :27.29 effort and Brooke Bennett placed first in the high jump, clearing 4’8″ to round out the first-place finishes.

Meredith Collins placed second in the 100 meter dash with a :13.50 effort, while Portlind Schmidt was second in the 1500 meters with a time of 5:39.23. Brooke Bennett took second in the 3000 meters with her time of 12:41.43 and Cassie Gearhart threw the discus 96’2″ to earn a second place finish.

The 4×400 relay, with Shayla Simms, Harrison Schmidt, Ashley Schmidt and Kenzie Grimm took second with a 4:29.34 clocking and the Sprint Medley turned in a 2:06.50 for second place with Harrison Schmidt, Ashley Schmidt, Wendy Grimm and Lauren Thatcher.

Also finishing in second place was the Distance Medley, as the quartet of Chelseas Knitzer, lauren Thatcher, Harrison Schmidt and Portlind Schmidt finished with a time of 4:55.68.

Harrison Schmidt finished third in the 200 meter dash with a :28.41 time and Ashley Schmidt was third in the 400 meter dash with a :67.77 clocking. In the 1500 meter run, Brooke Bennett turned in a 5:55.26 time for third place.

Kayla Banwart placed third in the long jump with a leap of 14’4.25″, while Haley Hiscocks threw the shot put 32’7.5″ for third place and the shuttle hurdle relay, with Melanie Vote, Haley Banwart, Wendy Grimm and Kayla Banwart, placed third in 1:22.58.

Erin Larson finished fourth in the 800 meter run with a time of 2:43.75 and Sara Foley was fourth in the 3000 meter run with a time of 13:41.68 and Kaylee Lanus placed fourth in the long jump, leaping 14’2″.

Fifth place finishes went to Kayla Banwart in the 100 hurdles with a time of :20.08 and Kaylee Lanus took fifth in the 400 hurdles with a 1:23.38 time.

Rounding out the girls finishes was Melanie Vote with a 1:27.36 time in the 400 hurdles, good for sixth place.

Wolverines’ Efforts

The West Bend-Mallard/Twin River Valley Wolverines would battle Clay Central-Everly and NSK/Armstrong-Ringsted all evening long before finishing third with 100 points, behind 190 points for CCE and 149 points for NSK/AR.

The Wolverines got first place finishes from the 4×100 relay, as the quartet of Clay Douglas, Logan Streit, Collin Thatcher and Mitch Bonnstetter turned in a time of :47.1 to win. The same foursome then won the 4×200 relay with a time of 1:38.6 and the Medley Relay, with Nikko Wheeler, Logan Streit, Mitch Bonnstetter and Aaron Montag, took first place with their time of 3:59.2.

The 4×800 relay, comprised of Nathan Grimm, Dan Eubank, Kurt Banwart and Aaron Montag finished second with a time of 9:10, while the Shuttle hurdle relay of Collin Thatcher, Dustin Johnson, Clay Douglas and Sean Riesenberg, took second in 1:09.5.

Jesse Zinnel earned second place honors in the 3200 meter run with a time of 10:48 and Dustin Johnson placed second in the 400 hurdles with his time of 1:04.

Jesse Zinnel placed third in the 1600 meter run with a time of 5:08 and Mitch Bonnstetter earned third in the shot put by throwing 40’3″.

Clay Douglas placed fourth in the long jump with a leap of 17’8″, while Nikko Wheeler took fourth in the 400 meter dash with a :56.4 effort. Sean Riesenberg was fourth in the 110 high hurdles with his time of :18.1 and the 4×400 relay, with Jordan Buhs, Ashton Fehr, Dan Eubank and Dustin Johnson took fourth with a 3:56 clocking.

Nikko Wheeler placed fifth in the 200 meter dash with a time of :24.7 and then finished fifth in the long jump with a 16’4″ effort, while Nathan Grimm was fifth in the 1600 meter run with a 5:19 effort and Jesse Zinnel turned in a 2:18 clocking in the 800 meter run for fifth place.

Sean Riesenberg would finish sixth in the discus, while Kurt Banwart was sixth in the 400 meter low hurdles and the 110 high hurdles.

Both the Wolverines and Lady Wolverines will return to Armstrong on Thursday to compete in the Class 1A District and Regional Track Meet for the right to qualify for the State Track and Field Championships May 19-21 at Drake Stadium, on the campus of Drake University in Des Moines.