homepage logo

Area Girls Named To Cornbelt Elite Squads

By Staff | May 10, 2011

WEST BEND Golfers from West Bend-Mallard claimed five spots on the 2011 Cornbelt Conference Girls All Conference Golf Teams following the conference golf tournament last week at West Bend. Golfers from Graettinger/Terril-Ruthven-Ayrshire earned two slots on the league’s elite teams as well following the tournament.

North Sentral Kossuth/Armstrong-Ringsted won the team title with a 449 stroke total, while Harris-Lake Park finished second with a 454. West Bend-Mallard finished third with a 461 while Graettinger/Terril-Ruthven-Ayrshire finished in fourth place with a score of 483.

Clay Central-Everly would turn in a 573 stroke total to finish fifth overall, while Ventura was sixth with a 596. Woden-Crystal Lake/Titonka scored a 763 for seventh place, with Corwith-Wesley-LuVerne scoring a 766 to finish eighth and Twin River Valley finishing ninth with a 780 stroke score.

West Bend-Mallard’s Brooke Banwart captured the overall Meet Medalist honors with her round of 101 over the 18 hole event, with Samantha Brueggeman of Harris-Lake Park taking runner-up honors with a 105.

Brooke Banwart led off the First Team All Conference with her 101 and GT/RA’s Kyla Dyer also earned First Team honors with a 106 stroke total. Teammate Kelly Harris shot a 114 to earn Second Team All Conference honors, while Mackenzie Banwart of West Bend-Mallard carded a 115 to earn Second Team Honors as well.

West Bend-Mallard placed three players on the Third Team All Conference squad, starting with Sam Hartman’s round of 120, Sarah Mader’s round of 125 and Cassie Gearhart’s round of 128.

Other scores for Graettinger-Terril/Ruthven-Ayrshire included a 130 by Kendra Feldman and a 139 by Mackenzie Fay.