homepage logo

County Players Earn INA?All State Honors

By Staff | Nov 26, 2010

DES?MOINES – Players from West Bend-Mallard and Graettinger/Terril earned post-season honors with selection to the 2010 Iowa Newspaper Association All State Team. Balloting for the All State Teams was conducted on Sunday, Nov. 21, by a panel of sportswriters.

Coach Karlton Hector and the Graettinger/Terril Knights had three players selected to the Eight-Man All State Teams while Coach Pete Kapustynski and the West Bend-Mallard Wolverines placed two players on the Eight-Man squads, which were selected by the Eight-Man selection panel of sportswriters, based on nominations by sportswriters and coaches from across the state.

Leading the way for the Knights on the First Team was senior Nate Howard as one of the three offensive backs. Joining his teammate on the First Team Defensive team was senior Eric Hatland, who was selected as one of the two defensive backs.

West Bend-Mallard’s Mitch Bonnstetter, a junior, earned First Team Defensive honors, being selected as the punter for the squad.

The Wolverines also had senior Tanner Bruellman selected as a Third Team offensive lineman by the sportswriters on Sunday.

Rounding out the local selections was Graettinger/Terril sophomore Blaze Alesch, who was selected as the punter for the Eight-Man Third team defensive unit.

The complete Iowa Newspaper Association Eight-Man Football All State Team is as follows: