homepage logo

E-Hawks Earn All-State Gridiron Honors

By Staff | Nov 23, 2010

DES MOINES – Several members of the 2010 District Two Champion Emmetsburg E-Hawks have earned places on the 2010 Iowa Newspaper Association All State Team. Balloting for the All State Teams was conducted on Sunday, Nov. 21, by a panel of sportswriters.

For Coach Mike Dunlap’s E-Hawks, eight players were named to the three elite All State Teams by the Class 1A selection panel of sportswriters, based on nominations by sportswriters and coaches from across the state.

Leading the way for the E-Hawks on the First Team was senior Ben McCain as a defensive line selection.

Named to the Second Team Offense were senior Tyler Henderson on the Offensive Line and sophomore Andrew Wellik in the backfield.

Named to positions on the Second Team defense were junior Jake Carlson as a linebacker and junior Brady Berkland as a defensive back.

Senior quarterback Cory Schultes was selected as the Third Team quarterback and on the Third Team Defense, sophomore Austin McCartan earned a lineman’s spot and senior Bobby Gappa was named as a defensive back.

The complete Class 1A Iowa Newspaper Association All State Team can be found below and on Page 15.

The Iowa Newspaper Association’s All State Teams are chosen following nomination by sportswriters and coaches from across the state. Final balloting is conducted by sportswriters following the State Championship Games.