homepage logo

Cream of the Crop

By Staff | Aug 10, 2010

A quartet of players for the Emmetsburg Lady E-Hawk softball team were honored with selection to the 2010 Iowa Girls High School Athletic Union’s All State and All District Softball teams.

Leading the way for Coach Travis Birkey’s squad were seniors Maddison Woodruff and Alex Lock on the Class 2A First Team All State Squad, and Senior Nichole Hasbrouck on the Second Team All State Unit.  Also earning state recognition was junior Morgan Vlasman, who was accorded Honorable Mention honors. The trio of seniors were also honored by selection to the Northwest Iowa Class 2A All District Team.

Class 2A All State

First Team

Jamie Fisher, 12, BCLUW, Pitcher

Cassandra Darrah, 12, Wayne Pitcher

Maddison W?oodruff, 12, Emmetsburg Pitcher

Rachel Brisker, 12, Wilton, Pitcher

Jordan Kerns, 12, Westwood, Pitcher

Nichole Fisher, 12, BCLUW, Catcher

Alex Lock, 12, Emmetsburg, Catcher

Julia Hunter, 11, Iowa City Regina, Infielder

Kayla Bergman, 12, Sumner-Fredricksburg, Infielder

Shelby Paustain, 12, Durant-Bennett, Infield

Ashley Hagedorn, 12, IKM-Manning, Infield

Aspen Rhodes, 11, VanMeter, Infield

Karly Cochrane, 12, Mount Vernon, Infield

Steph Hayden, 11, PCM, Infield

Erica Soppe, 12, Jesup, Outfield

Sarah Ryan, 12, Mount Vernon, Outfield

Haddie Vawter, 12, BCLUW, Outfield

Bailey Bone, 12, Monticello, Outfield

Jordan Florey, 12, St. Edmond, Utility

Alexis Folkerts, 12, Albia, Utility

Coach of the Year – David Lee – BCLUW

Pitcher of the Year – Jamie Fisher, BCLUW

Catcher of the Year – Cassandra Darrah, Wayne

Class 2A All State

Second Team

Kaitlyn Caston, 11, West Burlington Notre Dame,  Pitcher

Kelsey Nigles, 9, Sumner-Fredricksburg, Pitcher

Kelsey Lough – 9, Jesup, Pitcher

Jody Hagedorn, 9, IKM-Manilla, Pitcher

Jayden Ott, 11, Central Springs, Catcher

Kara Proctor, 12, Wilton, Catcher

Alyssa Whitmore, 11, East Marshall, Infield

Amanda Niehaus, 12, Kuemper Catholic, Infield

Madison McKone, 12, Turkey Valley, Infield

Kelsey Enslin, 12, AGWSR, Infield

Bobbie Jo Burrows, 10, Bondurant-Farrar, Infield

Samantha Engelman, 12, West Sioux, Infield

Callie Tope, 11, North Fayette, Infield

Nichole Hasbrouck, 12, Emmetsburg, Infield

Jessica Rogers, 10, Osage, Outfield

 Heather VanSant, 12, Pella Christian, Outfield

Caitlin Finucan, 11, St. Edmonds, Outfield

Tyler Consoer, 12, I-35, Outfield

Shawnee Miller, 11, Hinton, Utility

Lauren Tilley, 10, Wayne, Utility

Class 2A All State

Honorable Mention

Morgan Vlasman, 11, Emmetsburg, Infield

Class 2A

Northwest Iowa

All District Team

Maddison Woodruff, 12, Emmetsburg, Pitcher

Alex Lock, 12, ?Emmetsburg, Catcher

Nichole Hasbrouck, 12, Emmetsburg Infielder

Kendall Bosch, 10, Estherville Lincoln Central, Pitcher

Kelli Starr, 12, G-LR/CL, Infield

Shawnee Miller, 11, Hinton, Pitcher

Aubrie Rozeboom, 12, HMS, Outfield

Morgan Olerich, 12, OA-BCIG

Keely Bracelin, 12, Okoboji, Pitcher

Makenzi Anderson,12, Okoboji, Infield

Sarah Stoulil, 12, PAC-PP, Infield

Katie Lambert, 12, Prairie Valley, Infield

Emily Schiernbeck, 11, Ridge View, Infield

Shelby Vogel, 11, Sheldon, Pitcher

Marissa Childress, 10, West Lyon, Infield

Samanthat Engleman, 12, West Sioux, Infield

Abby Horstman, 11, Western Christian, Pitcher

Joardan Kerns, 12, Westwood, Outifield

Katie Walker, 12, Westwood, Catcher

Alissa Reeves, 12, Westwood, Infield

Northwest District Coach of the Year:

Dan Thompson, Westwood