homepage logo

E-Hawks Continue To Improve Performances

By Staff | Apr 22, 2010

UP?AND?OVER - E-Hawk Austin Oppenheimer clears a hurdle in the 400 meter hurdle event at the Iowa Great Lakes Invitational Tuesday in Spirit Lake. -- Dan Voigt photo

SPIRIT?LAKE – The Emmetsburg E-Hawks earned a sixth place finish in the Great Lakes Invitational at Spirit Lake on Tuesday night. Algona would run away with the team title, followed by Spirit Lake Park, Storm Lake, Spencer, Okoboji, the E-Hawks and Estherville Lincoln Central.

Emmetsburg’s Shuttle Hurdle Relay team, Joey Naig, Jake Stubbs, Ryan Kliegl and Jake Morris, took second place with their time of 1:01.23, while the 4×100 relay, with Brady Berkland, Ryan Kliegl, Jake Stubbs and Cory Schultes, took third with a:46.06 effort. The same quartet of runners would take third in the 4×200 relay with their 1:36.78 clocking.

 Jake Morris would place third in the 110 high hurdles with a :15.97 time, while Joey Naig was fourth with a :16.58 effort in the same event.

Cory Schultes placed fifth in the 100 meter dash with a time of :11.53 and also earned fifth in the 200 meter dash with his time of :23.66. Brady Berkland was sixth in the 100 meter dash  with an :11.61 clocking.

Emmetsburg’s 4×400 relay, with Andrew Wellik, Austin McCartan, Clayton Henderson and Chad Loomis, placed sixth with a time of 3:54.15, while the Medley Relay, with Jake Morris, Jake Stubbs, Justin Studer and Bobby Gappa, placed sixth in a time of 4:11.3.

Jared Janssen earned a seventh place finish in the high jump, clearing 5’6”, while Austin Oppenheimer would earn a ninth place overall in the 400 meter hurdles with his time of :63.28. Justin Studer finished ninth in the 400 meter dash with a :56.81 clocking, while Brady Berkland placed tenth in the 200 meter dash with a :24.25 clocking and Jacob Hutchinson earned tenth in the discus, throwing the platter 101’3”.

The E-Hawks will travel to Pocahontas on Friday to run in the Pocahontas Relays and then will host the Clint Stille E-Hawk Relays on Tuesday, April 27, at Duane Twait Field.