homepage logo

E’Hawks Earn Lakes Conference Elite Honors

By Staff | Mar 4, 2010

A quartet of Emmetsburg E’Hawks have earned post-season honors for their play in the Lakes Conference basketball campaign this season.

Juniors Nick Wuebker and Cory Schultes earned positions on the Lakes Conference First Team and Second Team All Conference units, while sophomore Ryan Kliegl and senior Nate Brown were accorded Honorable Mention status by the league’s coaches.

Nick Wuebker, the E’Hawks’ 6’9” big man, was o ne of four unanimous selections to the Lakes Conference All Conference First Team unit. Wuebker averaged 14.5 points per game and pulled down 119 rebounds during the conference season for the E’Hawks.

Cory Schultes was named to the All Conference Second Team, after he averaged 8.4 points per game and shot 37 percent from three-point range during the league season, while making 72 percent of his free throws.

Ryan Kliegl was named to the Honorable Mention unit, as he averaged 6.1 points per game in conference play, dished out 65 assists and made 34 steals.

Nate Brown closed out his prep career with Honorable Mention honors, based on his 5.6 point per game average with 32 percent shooting from three-point range.

The 2010 Lakes ?Conference All Conference Teams are as follows:


Nick Wuebker*, 11, E’burg

Cory Ege*, 12, Cherokee

Paxton Struve*, 11, LeMars

Tyler Woterstorff*, 11, HWC

Sam VanWettering, 12, LeMars

Mitch Peschon, 11, Spirit Lake

Cameron Anderson, 11, St Lake

Dustin Douma, 11, HWC

* – Unanimous selection


Bryce Groeneweg, 12, HWC

Matt Westra, 11, HWC

Pel Deng, 11, Storm Lake

Austin Hoyman, 10, LeMars

Josh Bubke, 11, Spencer

Spencer Johnson, 12, ELC

Cory Schultes, 11, E’burg

Brock Dagel, 11, Cherokee


Ryan Kliegl, 10, Emmetsburg

Nate Brown, 12, Emmetsburg