homepage logo

Roethler To Lead Grand March At State Tournament

By Staff | Feb 18, 2010

When Saturday night’s Championship round rolls around at the 2010 Iowa State Wrestling Championships, Emmetsburg’s Bob Roethler will be front and center. Roethler, a long-time fixture in the history of E’Hawk Wrestling, will be one of two escorts for the Grand March of state qualifiers that precedes the championship matches at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

Bob Roethler, a National Hall of Fame Coach, pushed Emmetsburg’ wrestling program to state prominence in the 1970’s when he coached the E’Hawks to four consecutive state championships in 1976, 1977, 1978 and 1979. The accomplishment was the first such achievement for a high school wrestling team in 58 years , and has only been equalled twice since then.

Despite suffering a stroke in the prime of his career, Roethler exhibited the iron will and desire to battle back. Roethler came back to lead the wrestling program in Graettinger for several years before joining the housing and counseling staff at Iowa Lakes Community College in Emmetsburg.

However, Roethler continues his involvement in wrestling at Emmetsburg, where he continues to volunteer his knowledge and love of the sport with the E’Hawk wrestling program.

Roethler was inducted to the Iowa High School Athletic Association’s Hall of Fame in 1991, and has also been inducted into the National High School Athletics Hall of Fame in 1998.

Joining Roethler as an escort for the Grand March will be Jim Steiert of State Center and Bernie Stroh.

The Grand March of all 336 medal winners at the state tournament begins at 6 p.m. Saturday. Feb 20.

Televised Coverage

The 2010 Iowa State Wrestling Championships will once again be broadcast on the Iowa High School Sports Network. Locally, the broadcast will be carried on KPTH, Fox 44, in Sioux City.

Media Award

Emmetsburg will also be represented at the State Tournament when Sports Editor Dan Voigt of The Reporter and The Democrat newspapers is presented with the IHSAA?Excellence in Media Award. This award is part of the Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies which preceed the State Tournament.