homepage logo

E’Hawks Earn 2A Sectional Crown, Advance 10 To Districts

By Staff | Feb 9, 2010

COME?AROUND - E’Hawk 125 pounder Nick Schany works to come around on LM/SC’s Cole Moens in the third place match at Saturday’s Class 2A Sectional Tournament in Algona. Schany would claim a 2-1 decision in this match to finish third for the E’Hawks, who won the Sectional title. -- Dan Voigt photo

ALGONA – It was a dominating outing for the Emmetsburg/Armstrong-Ringsted/Ruthven-Ayrshire wrestling team at Saturday’s 2A Sectional tournament. The E’Hawks claimed seven championships at the Sectional and earned three runner-up finishes to advance 10 wrestlers to Saturday’s 2A District meet at Lake Mills. And, to put a little frosting on top of the cake, the E’Hawks ran away with the Sectional Title, winning the title with 257 points, 38 points better than runner-up team Algona/North Sentral Kossuth.

The E’Hawks earned individual championships at 112, 130, 135, 145, 152, 160 and 189 pounds on Saturday, with runner up placings at 103, 119 and 140 pounds.

In Saturday’s action, only three E’Hawks had first-round matches, due to low numbers of participating wrestlers from the schools in the tourney.

At 152, Andrew Wellik opened with a 1:13 win by fall over Casey Jones of Spirit Lake Park. At 171 pounds, Howard Henkelvig earned a 9-7 decision victory over Brandy Myers of Humboldt and in the 215 pound match, Derek Henkelvig scored a 2:27 win by fall over Ben Ashland of Spirit Lake Park.

Moving directly into the Semifinal round, the winning continued for the E’Hawks.

Tyler Leuer opened at 103 with a 4:21 win by fall over Alex Zinnel of Humboldt and at 112, Isaac Lundgren needed just 1:02 to pin C.J. Kent of Spirit Lake Park. Justin Studer earned a 1:44 win by fall over Alex Case of Humboldt in his semi at 119 pounds, but the E’Hawks stumbled at 125 when Nick Schany came up painfully short in a 4-3 decision loss to Dylan Bryce of Spirit Lake Park.

At 130 pounds, Brady Bailey came up with a surprise 2:20 win by fall over Nick Olthoff of Humboldt and at 135, Skyler Rice pinned Curtis Klingbeil of Estherville Lincoln Central in :47 of their matchup. Jake Stubbs trailed 6-0 in his match with Jacob Welch of Spirit Lake Park, but got a quick reversal in the second period and went on to pin the Indian wrestler in 3:37.

Austin McCartan scored a 1:26 win by fall over Garrett Johnson of Algona/NSK and at 152, Andrew Wellik came up with a late takedown in a hard-fought match to score a 3-1 decision victory over Algona/NSK’s Jake Larson.

In the 160 pound match, Joey Naig manhandled Andrew Brooks of Spirit Lake Park before earning a 3:06 win by fall. But at 171, Howard Henkelvig ended up on the wrong end of an 11-0 major decision at the hands of Rick Wilson of Spirit Lake Park.

Jake Morris would pin Mitchell Erpelding of Algona/NSK in :42 of the 189 pound match, but at 215, Derek Henkelvig was pinned in 1:34 of his match with Logan Johnson of Algona/NSK and at heavyweight, John Ruddy was pinned in 2:47 of his matchup with Brandon Keller of Algona/NSK.

Moving into the championship round, Tyler Leuer would finish second to Spirit Lake Park’s Doug Miner in a 16-1 Technical fall in 3:36 of the 103 pound match.

Isaac Lundgren would win the 112 pound title with a :23 win by fall over Colton Schnetzer of Humboldt, but at 119, Justin Studer would be pinned by Jake Adams of Algona/NSK, and had to wrestle-back. In the wrestle back match with Sam Bosma of Spirit Lake Park, Studer scored a :48 win by fall to earn the second place finish for the E’Hawks.

In the third place match at 125, Nick Schany earned a 2-1 decision over Cole Moens of Laurens-Marathon/Sioux Central for third place, with no hope of a wrestle back.

At 130, Brady Bailey met David Jones of Laurens-Marathon/Sioux Central and wasted little time in pinning Jones in just :32 to take the title and advance to the District meet next weekend.

Skyler Rice earned the 135 pound title with a 1:18 win by fall over Alex Wisemen of Algona/NSK, but at 140, Jake Stubbs would lose a 16-4 major decision to Eric Spencer of Algona/NSK, but earned second place outright with the finish to qualify.

Austin McCartan won his 145 pound match and qualification with a 5-2 decision over Rick Maris of Spirit Lake Park, and classmate Andrew Wellik duplicated the effort at 152 with a 5-2 decision win over Seth Shatto of Estherville Lincoln Central. Joey Naig claimed the 160 pound title for the E’Hawks with a 17-8 major decision over Kyle Walker of Algona/NSK.

On the consolation side, Howard Henkelvig met Zach Plathe of Algona/NSK for the consolation title, but lost an 8-0 major decision to Plathe to finish fourth for the E’Hawks.

In the championship match at 189 pounds, Jake Morris needed just :26 to win the title with a pin of Blake Meyers of Humboldt.

At 215 pounds, Derek Henkelvig pinned Cameron Graff of Laurens-Marathon/Sioux Central in the consolation match, and earned the right to wrestle-back for second place against Gable Bonner of Estherville Lincoln Central. But in the wrestle back match, Bonner would get the quick takedown and pinned Henkelvig in 1:57, giving Henkelvig the third place finish.

Rounding out the efforts at heavyweight was John Ruddy, who met Trent Sawyer of Humboldt for third place, but lost a 6-1 decision to finish fourth for the E’Hawks.