homepage logo

Crown Four Champions

By Staff | Feb 2, 2010

BRING?HIM?AROUND - E’Hawk 189 pounder Jake Morris works to score a takedown against Storm Lake’s Jake Larson during the championship match. Morris earned a 2:55 win by fall to take the Conference title. -- Dan Voigt photo

SPENCER – With four individual champions, the E’Hawks of Emmetsburg/Armstrong-Ringsted/Ruthven-Ayrshire earned a second place finish in the 2010 Lakes Conference Wrestling Tournament Friday night. The finish caps off the regular season for the E’Hawks, who earned the runner-up spot in the Lakes with a 7-1 mark in dual competition and 15-6 overall dual mark.

The E’Hawks earned second place behind Spencer with placings from 12 of the 14 wrestlers on the squad. Leading the way were Conference Champion seniors Joey Naig and Jake Morris, along with Junior Skyler Rice and Sophomore Isaac Lundgren.

The E’Hawks got runner-up finishes from freshman Tyler Leuer and sophomore Justin Studer, while freshmen Austin McCartan and Andrew Wellik, along with junior Jake Stubbs won third place finishes.

For Nick Schany at 125 pounds, a first-round bye was followed by a 10-1 major decision loss to Dylan bryce of Spirit Lake Park. Schany lost an 11-8 decision to Bran Gomez of Storm Lake, but in the fifth place match, Schany scored a 2:12 win by fall over Matt DeWild of Western Christian for the placing.At 215 pounds, freshman Taylor Wegner was pinned in 1:31 of his first-round match with Jose Camarena of LeMars and would be eliminated after a 1:54 fall to Travis VanOtterloo of Western Christian.

It was a similar story for senior John Ruddy at heavyweight, as he was pinned in 3:42 of the opening round by Eric Carillo of Storm?Lake, and then fell in :33 of his match with Shae Heinrichs of Spirit Lake Park to be eliminated from the tournament.

Senior Howard Henkelvig placed fourth, along with freshman Brady Bailey and freshman Nick Schany collected a fifth place finish for the E’Hawks to round out the placings.

At 112, Isaac Lundgren pinned Jaun Figueroa of Storm Lake in 2:07 and then won the title with a 3:21 fall over Jon Grevengoed of Western Christian.

Skyler Rice won his 135 pound title with a 1:00 pin over James Russell of Storm Lake, and then needed just :15 to pin Brandon Sundall of Spirit Lake Park before winning the title with a :56 win by fall over Blaine Johnson of Spencer.

Joey Naig pinned Alex Doppenberg of Spencer in 3:16 and then won an 18-6 major decision over Kyle Westra of Western Christian before taking the title with a 5:49 win by fall over Daniel Polyak of Storm Lake at 160 pounds.

At 189 pounds, Jake Morris pinned Cole Mace of Estherville Lincoln Central in :51 and then earned a 1:46 win by fall over David Zobrist of Spencer before taking the title with a 2:55 pin over Storm Lakes’ Jake Larson.

Tyler Leuer drew a first round bye and then scored a 1:12 win by fall over Dylan Tomabane of Storm Lake before he fell victim to Spirit Lake Park’s Doug Miner, losing a 19-4 Technical Fall in 4:56 of the 103 pound finals to settle for second place.

At 119 pounds, Justin Studer pinned Sam Bosma of Spirit Lake Park in 2:59 to open the tourney, and then pinned CJ?Singer of LeMars in 1:24. In the finals, Studer was pinned by John Christopherson of Spencer in 5:23 to settle for the runner-up honors.

Jake Stubbs started the tourney with a 24-9 Technical Fall in 6:00 of his match with Jacob Welch of Spirit Lake Park. Stubbs would be pinned by James Randall of Spencer in 5:19 to drop into the consolation bracket, where he pinned Alex Bloomquist of ELC in 2:02. Stubbs then took third place at 140 pounds with an injury default win over Zach Glassford of Storm Lake.

At 145, Austin McCartan pinned Ivan Alvores of Storm Lake in 3:33, but was pinned by Rick Maris of Spirit Lake Park in 3:17. In his consolation matches, McCartan took a 10-3 decision over Zac Anderson of Cherokee and then pinned Brayton Ringsdorf of LeMars in 2:17 to claim third place honors.

For Andrew Wellik, the tourney started with a 12-4 major decision over Brandon Griffin of Spirit Lake Park at 152 pounds. Wellik would lose a 12-4 major decision to Spencer’s Matt Wilkerson, but came back to pin Tyler VanderZwaag of Western Christian in :51 and then took third place with a 12-6 decision win over Brandon Griffin of Spirit Lake Park.

Brady Bailey lost his first match at 130 pounds in a 2:58 fall to Tanner Schaefer of Spencer, but came back to earn a 15-3 major decision over Rick Weaver of Cherokee, but was pinned by Juan Torres of Storm Lake in 1:29 to settle for the fourth place.

At 171 pounds, Howard Henkelvig was pinned by KJ?Besch of Storm Lake in 5:01, but rebounded to take a :43 win by fall over Chris Hiserote of LeMars. Henkelvig then took a 13-5 major decision over Ross Hoksbergen of Western Christian, but lost a 3-0 decision to Tyler Schaefer of Spencer to finish fourth.