homepage logo

Honors For New E’Hawk Mentor

By Staff | Dec 10, 2009

INTENSITY - E’Hawk Head Coach Marc Harwood shouts words of encouragment during a match last week at Forest City, as E’Hawk Jacob Stubbs prepares to take to the mat. Harwood will be inducted into the Jackson County Central Wrestling Hall of Fame in ceremonies Dec. 10 in Jackson, Minn. -- Dan Voigt photo

Even though he’s only led the E’Hawk wrestling squad in a double dual and one tournament, Head coach Marc Harwood is receiving some honors for his accomplishments on the wrestling mat.

Harwood is one of six people being inducted this evening, Thursday, Dec. 10, into the Jackson County Wrestling Hall of Fame. The induction ceremonies are scheduled for 5:30 p.m. tonight at Jackson County Central High School in Jackson, Minn.

Marc Harwood was one of the most successful wrestlers in the state of MInnesota, as he finished his prep wrestling career with a record of 190-25. His 190 career match victories leaves Harwood tied for 63rd all time in Minnesota, but when Harwood graduated from Jackson in 2002, his 190 wins was in the top 20 in state wrestling history.

For Harwood, his junior and senior seasons were the most successful, as he didn’t lose a match in those two seasons – finishing 44-0 as a junior and then earning a mark of 38-0 as a senior.

And, Harwood won the state championships both of those seasons, and did qualify for the state meet as a freshman and earning a sixth place finish and then qualifying as a sophomore in 1999 and earning fourth place honors and 44-0 as a junior in 2000.

During that time, Harwood was part of back-to-back Minnesota State Team Championships for the Jackson County Central Huskies in 1999 and 2000.

After graduating from Jackson County Central, Harwood continued his wrestling career at the collegiate level by attending the University of Nebraska.

After graduating from Nebraska, he worked with the wrestling team’s outreach programs before accepting the position of head coach of the Emmetsburg/Armstrong-Ringsted/Ruthven-Ayrshire E’Hawk wrestling team this summer.

Joining Harwood in being inducted are Craig Muir, Todd Card, Dave Hanson, Gene Michelson and Kent Johnson.

The induction ceremonies are part of the 50th Anniversary of wrestling in Jackson County, Minn.

Craig Muir was the first state place winner in Jackson County history when he finished fourth at the state tournament in 1964.

Todd Card was an assistant coach at Jackson High School beginning in 1990 and Card helped the Huskies win the state title in 1999 before leaving to take over at Hutchinson, Minn.

Dave Hanson, Gene Michelson and Kent Johnson were all longtime supporters and contributors to the Jackson Area Youth wrestling program in Jackson. They worked the scoreboard and timer and have been announcers for wrestling meets throughout the years.

All three have been supporters of wrestling in the county, both financially and with their time.