homepage logo

E’Hawks Fourth At Eagle Grove, Crown Two Champs

By Staff | Dec 8, 2009

GET?OUT?OF?THAT?- E/AR/RA’s Nate Schany rolled through this move by Ballard’s Weston Baker to come away with a 5-4 decision victory to earn the 135 pound weight championship for the E’Hawks at the Eagle Grove Tournament Saturday. The E’Hawks would finish fourth overall in the team standings. -- Dan Voigt photo

EAGLE?GROVE – With a pair of individual champions, the Emmetsburg/Armstrong-Ringsted/Ruthven-Ayrshire E’Hawks placed fourth overall at the 2009 Eagle Grove Invitational on Saturday. The E’Hawks earned 12 placings in the tournament, which featured teams from Ballard, Algona, Ankeny, Eagle Grove, Fort Dodge and Oskaloosa, as well as the E’Hawks and a group of JV wrestlers.

For the E’Hawks, Nate Schany captured his first ever tournament title by winning the 135 pound weight class in a 5-4 decision over Ballard’s Weston Baker.

The E’Hawks also got a championship from Joey Naig at 160 pounds as Naig claimed an 11-3 major decision win over Brad Mickelson of Ballard in the finals.

Also wrestling in the finals for the E’Hawks was Isaac Lundgren at 119 pounds and Jake Morris at 215 pounds.

“We saw some good competition,”?noted E’Hawk Head Coach Marc Harwood. “The guys know it won’t get any easier from here on out, though. We’ve got a busy week ahead of us with duals Tuesday and Thursday and then our own tournament on Saturday, so we have to be ready to work and work hard every time we go out on the mat.”

At 135 pounds, Nate Schany opened with a 1:05 pin of Ethan Vandekrief of Oskaloosa, and then earned a 15-6 major decision over Fort Dodge’s Keegan Nelson in the semis to meet Baker in the finals for his championship.

Joey Naig would claim a 14-5 major decision in the opening match at 160 against his own teammate Andrew Wellik, who wrestled for the JV?All Stars. Naig would then meet Blake Pagliai of Ankeny in the semi-finals and earned a :27 win by fall to earn his title match with Mickelson and subsequent tournament title.

At 119 pounds, Isaac Lundgren pinned Easton Bridgwater of Ballard in 3:03 and then scored a 15-5 major decision win over Daniel Williams of Oskaloosa. In the finals, Lundgren was paired with Seth Clark of Ankeny, but came up short in a 6-4 decision to settle for second place.

E’Hawk 215 pounder Jacob Morris would open with a :54 win by fall over Brady Shivers of Oskaloosa and then collected a :57 pin of Chuck Riley of Fort Dodge to earn his title shot. Meeting Logan Johnson of Algona in the finals, Morris fell behind 5-1 in the second period and couldn’t rally as he lost an 11-3 major decision to Johnson to finish second.

In the 103 pound weight class, Tyler Leuer would finish fourth for the E’Hawks. Leuer opened with a 1:21 win by fall over Cameron Swalve of Algona, but was pinned in the semi finals in 5:53 by Matt Birnbaum of Fort Dodge. Leuer then wrestled Adam Gerskow of Oskaloosa in the consolation semi’s and earned a :38 win by fall to meet Dillon Hanson o Ballard in the consolation final, where Leuer lost a 6-3 decision to finish fourth.

Jake Stubbs would also finish fourth at 140 pounds, opening his day with a 1:01 win by fall over Adam Miller of Fort Dodge. In the semis, Stubbs was the victim of a 15-0 technical fall in 3:18 to Trent Brown of Oskaloosa to move to the consolation round. Stubbs would edge Eric Spencer of Algona 12-11 in a hard-fought decision before moving to the consolation final, where he lost an 11-2 major decision to Marcus Heitland of Eagle Grove to take fourth place.

In action at 152 pounds, Andrew McCartan won a 2-1 decision over Ryan Smithart of Oskaloosa in the first round, but was pinned in 1:53 by Tanner Weatherman of Ballard in the semi finals. McCartan then met Shea Springer of Fort Dodge in the consolation bracket and claimed a 7-1 decision victory. For the Consolation final, McCartan wrestled Jeff Robison of Ankeny, only to be pinned in 1:49 to settle for the fourth place finish.

The E’Hawks got a fifth place finish from Nick Schany at 125 pounds after Schany opened th day with a 7-1 decision loss to Ben Reichenbecker of Ankeny. Schany then defeated Micah Laurens of Algona in a 10-3 decision before being pinned in 4:20 of his match with Month Arends of Fort Dodge. In the fifth place match, Schany would wrestle Cody Dickerson of Oskaloosa and earn the fifth place finish with a 9-1 major decision victory.

Mitch Peterson would place sixth at 145 pounds for the E’Hawks after opening with a 14-5 major decision loss to Cody Harrison of Eagle Grove. Peterson then drew a bye before being pinned by Carson Powell of Ankeny in 1:31. In the fifth place match, Peterson would lose a 6-4 decision to Garret Johnson of Algona to take sixth place.

Derek Henkelvig would also finish sixth, starting out with a 10-1 major decision loss to Erik Rasmussen of Ankeny. Henkelvig would then draw a bye, but was pinned in 5:08 of his match with Ben Schnurr of Fort Dodge. For the fifth place match, Henkelvig met Dane Jones of Oskaloosa and lost a 6-0 decision to settle for sixth.

Heavyweight Andrew Garrelts took a sixth place finish after he opened by bing pinned in 2:00 of his match with Brent Anderson of Fort Dodge. Garrelts would then pin Sean Halverson of Eagle Grove’s JV in :55 of their match, but in the consolation semi’s, Garrelts was pinned in 1:09 by Brandon Keller of Algona before bing pinned by Brant Anderson of Fort Dodge in the fifth place match in 1:38 to finish sixth.

Andrew Wellik wrestled for the JV?All Stars at 160 pounds and after losing his first round match to Joey Naig in a 14-5 major decision, Wellik would defeat Jerod Gambrill of Eagle Grove in sudden death overtime by a 7-5 decision. Wellik then lost in a 1:35 fall to Kyle Walker of Algona before he was pinned in the fifth place match in 5:22 by David Rogers of Fort Dodge to end up in sixth place.

Two additional E’Hawk wrestlers participated in the tournament but did not place. At 140 pounds, Grant Rehan wrestled for the JV?All Stars, where he lost his first mach in a 1:30 fall to Trent Brown of Oskaloosa and then was eliminated after a 3:22 pin at the hands of Adam Miller of Fort Dodge.

Justin Studer would also wrestle for the JV?All Stars at 119 pounds, where he was pinned in his opening match in 1:35 by Seth Clark of Ankeny. Studer would then be pinned in 5:39 of the match with Matt Reed of Eagle Grove and was eliminated from the tourney.

The E’Hawks are slated to travel to Sibley tonight (Tuesday) to meet Sibley-Ocheyedan and Graettinger/Terril in a double dual. On Thursday, the E’Hawks will host Cherokee in a Lakes Conference dual before hosting their E’Hawk Invitational on Saturday. Action will get underway at 12 noon.