homepage logo

E’Hawks Face Strong Challenge With Lake Mills

By Staff | Oct 22, 2009

Friday’s regular season finale for the Emmetsburg E’Hawks will provide the E’Hawks with one of their strongest challenges of the season, as Lake Mills travels to Duane Twait field.

For the E’Hawks, the postseason is an upcoming agenda item, but make no mistake, the first and only order of business on Friday is to claim a victory over the visiting Bulldogs.

“Our game plan is no different than any other week of the season,”?noted Emmetsburg Head Coach Mike Dunlap. “We are working to get better on Monday, get better on Tuesday, get better on Wednesday and Thursday with the goal of being 1-0 on Friday night.”

A simplistic goal, to be sure, but in the face of what Lake Mills brings into Friday’s game, a most sensible and prudent approach to the contest.

Lake Mills returns nearly every player from last year’s team, which was a sophomore-dominated squad.

“They have great offensive and defensive lines, great backs, great speed all over the field,”?Dunlap noted. “They’ve got everything and they’re very physical all the way around.”

According to Dunlap, the Bulldogs operate from the Wing-I formation on offense, and utilize trip sets in the offensive scheme. With a pair of strong rushers, including one for over 1,000 yards so far on the season, the running game has been the Bulldogs’ strength.

“On defense, they come out of a 4-4 or a 6-2 defense,”?Dunlap said. “They lost their first district game to St. Ansgar in week three and they’ve won out since then.”

For Emmetsburg, there can only be thoughts of Friday’s game and nothing else.

“We need to control both lines of scrimmage, eliminate the mental mistakes and penalties, and play four quarters of football,” Dunlap said. “We only want to be 1-0 when the game is finished Friday night.”

Friday night will be Parents Night for the E’Hawks, as 14 seniors play their last regular season game at Duane Twait Field and will be recognized along with their teammates.

E’Hawk seniors are Matt Ballman, Nate Brown, Joey Naig, Tommy Kuecker, Nick Leewright, Jake Morris, Chris Kollasch, Chris Olsen, Howard Henkelvig, Eric Pelzer, Andy Wuebker, John Ruddy, Ben Pelzer and Phil Brown.