homepage logo

Cornbelt Conference Announces Post Season Honors

By Staff | Aug 13, 2009

The conclusion of the summer sports seasons brings about the announcement of post-season honors for area baseball players. Several members of the Graettinger/Terril Knights and Ruthven-Ayrshire Raiders were accorded honors on the 2009 Cornbelt Conference All Conference Teams, following balloting by the league coaches.

For Graettinger/Terril, juniors Cody Dyhrkopp as an outfielder and Taylor Harris as a utility player, were named to positions on the All Conference First Team.

For the Ruthven-Ayrshire Raiders, senior Carl Jensen earned First Team honors as a utility player from the league coaches, while teammage Mark Geelan, a junior, was accorded Second Team status as a pitcher for the Raiders.

Cornbelt Conference

2009 All-Conference Baseball

First Team

Player Grade Position School

Ridge Christiansen 12 Pitcher Armstrong-Ringsted

Nick Larson 12 Pitcher North Sentral Kossuth

Levi Peters 10 Pitcher Twin River Valley

Kyle Kruger 12 Catcher Harris-Lake Park

Chris Rock 12 Catcher North Sentral Kossuth

Wes Christensen 12 First Base Clay Central-Everly

Jordan Ricke 10 Second Base North Sentral Kossuth

Nate Drees 11 Third Base Clay Central-Everly

Brock Beadle 11 Shortstop North Sentral Kossuth

Cody Dyhrkopp 11 Outfield Graettinger/Terril

Blake Pedersen 11 Outfield North Sentral Kossuth

Jake Ihnen 10 Outfield Harris-Lake Park

Brandon Full 11 Utility Clay Central-Everly

Taylor Harris 11 Utility Graettinger/Terril

Griffin Hatten 12 Utility North Sentral Kossuth

Carl Jensen 12 Utility Ruthven-Ayrshire

Trevor Peters 12 Utility Twin River Valley

Lee Vellema 11 Utility Harris-Lake Park

Second Team

Player Grade Position School

Mark Geelan 11 Pitcher Ruthven-Ayrshire

Zach Meinders 12 Pitcher Wooden-Crystal Lake/Titonka

Kyle Pedersen 12 Pitcher Corwith-Wesley/Luverne

Scott Phelps 12 Catcher Wooden-Crystal Lake/Titonka

Craig Tigges 11 Catcher Armstrong-Ringsted

Brett Thackery 9 First Base Armstrong-Ringsted

Evan Hagebock 9 Second Base Armstrong-Ringsted

Cody VanderVeen 12 Third Base Harris-Lake Park

Trever Beenken 12 Shortstop Wooden-Crystal Lake/Titonka

Danial Anderson 12 Outfield Corwith-Wesley/Luverne

Sam Jacobson 12 Outfield Twin River Valley

Austin Klett 11 Outfield Clay Central-Everly

Brett Beadle 10 Utility North Sentral Kossuth

Spencer Clausen 10 Utility Armstrong-Ringsted

Tanner LaBore 12 Utility Armstrong-Ringsted

Wesley Steward 11 Utility Corwith-Wesley/Luverne

Peyton Vote 9 Utility Twin River Valley

Chad Walton 12 Utility Clay Central-Everly

Honorable Mention

Player Grade School

Nathan Kyle 9 Harris-Lake Park

Jake Meinders 10 Wooden-Crystal Lake/Titonka

2009 Cornbelt Co-Coaches of the Year

Mike Elsbecker and Chad Slagle – North Sentral Kossuth



*North Sentral Kossuth 8-0

Twin River Valley 6-2

Clay Central Everly 5-2

Harris-Lake Park 5-3

Armstrong-Ringsted 3-4

Wooden-Crystal Lake/Titonka 3-4

Graettinger/Terril 2-5

Ruthven-Ayrshire 1-6

Corwith-Wesley/LuVerne 1-7

*Overall Champion

East Division Standings West Division Standings

*North Sentral Kossuth 6-0 *Clay Central Everly 6-2

Twin River Valley/WBM 3-3 Harris-Lake Park 5-3

Woden-Crystal Lake/Titonka 2-4 Armstrong-Ringsted 4-4

Corwith-Wesley/LuVerne 1-5 Graettinger/Terril 3-5

Ruthven-Ayrshire 2-6

*Division Champions