homepage logo

E’Hawks Win County Boys Battle On The Links

By Staff | May 5, 2009

CHECKING?THE?BREAK - Graettinger/Terril’s Jake Hoffman checks the break of a green at the Spencer Municipal Golf Course during Friday’s Palo Alto County Golf Meet. Hoffman would shoot a 41 for the Knights, but Emmetsburg would win the county title with a 148 team score. -- Dan Voigt photo

SPENCER – Emmetsburg’s E’Hawks shot some tough golf on Friday to win the Palo Alto County Boys golf title. The E’Hawks shot a team total 148 to lead Graettinger/Terril with a 171, West Bend-Mallard with a 181 and Ruthven-Ayrshire with a 209 stroke total.

Matt Wellik of Emmetsburg would take the medal honors with his round of 33. Robbie Myers was the runner-up medalist with a round of 36.

Other scoring for Emmetsburg included Tyler Kliegl with a 38, Ben McCain with a 41 and Matt Ballman and Ryan Kliegl with rounds of 42.

For Graettinger/Terril, Jake Hoffman was low scorer with a 41, while Cody Dyhrkopp carded a 42. James Tatman shot a 43, while Zach Harris carded a 45. Kass Schany shot a 46 and Ryan Schany rounded out the scoring with a 52.

West Bend-Mallard’s Wolverines were led by Ryan Barnwart with a 37, while Jake Goodchild and Alex Sikora both shot 47’s. Travis Goeders carded a 50, while Mitch Bonnstetter shot a 51 and Greg Mader carded a 53.

Ruthven-Ayrshire was led by the 48 of Logan Fischer and the 49 of Dylan Smith. Trevor Halder added a 55, while Kyle Simington and Dylan Fischer both shot rounds of 57 and Shawn Molitor rounded out the effort with a 60.