homepage logo

Thinclads Take To The Track Indoors

By Staff | Mar 24, 2009

NECK?AND?NECK - E’Hawks Taylor Morris, left, and Langston Jones, right, finished together in the 4x200 relay event at the Lakes Conference Indoor Meet last week. The foursome of Keaton Carter, Kyle Elbert, Justin Hotchkiss and Langston Jones finished eighth witha 1:45.1 time while the foursome of Joey Naig, Bobby Gappa, Brady Berkland and Taylor Morris would finish ninth with a 1:45.4 clocking. -- Dan Voigt photo

SIOUX?CENTER – With a new head coach and a new season, the Emmetsburg E’Hawks opened their track and field season at the Lakes Conference Indoor Meet last Thursday, March 19, at Dordt College in Sioux Center.

Head Coach Tyler Bevig saw several solid efforts out of the E’Hawks in their first competition of the season.

Leading the way on Thursday was the first place effort of senior Trevor Dettmann in the 55 meter hurdles, as he flew over the barricades in :.07.5. Emmetsburg’s varsity 4×200 relay unit, comprised of Bobby Mortensen, Cory Schultes, Justin DeFord and Tommy Kuecker, took first place honors with a time of 1:39.5 and Taylor Morris picked up first place honors in the long jump, as he came away with a leap of 18’10“.

Lucas Thomsen earned second place in the shot put, throwing 46’8″ in the competition. Trevor Dettmann earned third place in the long jump with his effort of 18’5” and Jake Morris finished in fourth place in the 200 meter dash, turning in a time of :25.4.

Other efforts from the E’Hawks saw the 4×400 relay of Keaton Carter, Cory Schultes, Tommy Kuecker and Trevor Dettmann finish with a time of 3:54.1, while the foursome of Bobby Gappa, Justin DeFord, Jake Carlson and Jared Janssen finished with a 4:00.3 and the quartet of Langston Jones, Brady Berkland, Justin Hotchkiss and Kyle Elbert, finished with a 4:01.7 time.

The 4×800 relay with Bobby Gappa, Chad Loomis, Jake Stubbs and Jake Carlson finished with 9:19.9 effort, while the 4×200 relay of Keaton Carter, Kyle Elbert, Justin Hotchkiss and Langston Jones finished with a 1:45 1. time and the quartet of Joey Naig, Bobby Gappa, Brady Berkland and Taylor Morris finished just ticks behind with a 1:45.4 effort.

In the 800 meter run, Keaton Carter finished with a time of 2:22.0, while Jared Janssen turned in a 2:23.1 effort and Allen Dunnick finished with a 2:29.1 clocking.

In the 55 meter hurdles, Jake Morris and Joey Naig both finished in :.08.3 and Austin Oppenheimer turned in a time of :09.7. The 55 meter dash results saw Taylor Morris run a :.07.1 time, while Justin Studer ran a :.07.6 and Nick Leewright ran a :.07.7/.

In the 200 meter dash, Jake Morris ran a :25.4, while Jake Stubbs ran a :26.4 time. Nick Leewright turned in a :28.0 time and Justin Studer ran a :28.5 .

Allen Dunnick ran the 1600 meters in a time of 5:33.4, while Chad Loomis ran the mile in 5:55.8.

Brady Berkland would leap 17’6″ in the long jump competition, while Jared Janssen cleared 5’4” in the high jump.

Rounding out the efforts for the E’Hawks in the shot put were J.C. Rezabek with a throw of 43’2″, while Ben Pelzer came away with a throw of 39’2“. Tyler Henderson threw the orb 36’4” and Carson Glasnapp came away with a throw of 35’5″.

The E’Hawks will return to action on Thursday, April 2, when they travel to Spirit Lake for the KUOO?Invitational.