homepage logo

Local Teams Well Represented On Elite Squads

By Staff | Mar 17, 2009

A half-dozen area girls received accolades for their play on the hardwood in the recently completed basketball seasons. The Cornbelt Conference announced its girls All Conference teams recently at the conclusion of the Girls State basketball tournament series.

West Bend-Mallard and Graettinger/Terril both had First Team selections, as well as a second team selection along with the Ruthven-Ayrshire Raiders. West Bend-Mallard also had one player earn Honorable Mention recognition.

For Coach Eugene Ruppert and the Lady Wolverines of West Bend-Mallard, Junior Amanda Frieden was the First Team All Conference selection for the squad. Kayla Hartman, a senior for the Lady Wolverines, earned Second Team recognition and senior Marisa Thilges was accorded Honorable Mention honors by the League’s coaches.

For Coach Roger Conway and the Graettinger/Terril Knights, Theresa Peterson, a senior, was named to the All Conference First Team, while teammate Malorie Girres, also a senior, earned a spot on the Second Team all Conference unit.

Ruthven-Ayrshire Co-Coaches Trenton and Kelli Keefer had Sadie Forey, a sophomore for the Raider squad, receive Second Team recognition for her play during the season from the conference coaches.

The complete all-conference honorees are listed below.

First Team All-Conference

Cassie Benjamin, jr., Twin River Valley

Jenna Biedenfeld, sr., Twin River Valley

Laura Brugman, sr., Clay Central-Everly

Rosie Cheever, sr., Armstrong-Ringsted

Amanda Frieden, jr., West Bend-Mallard

Shayna Geitzenauer, sr., North Sentral Kossuth

Kaley Imhoff, sr., Ventura

Theresa Petersen, sr.,Graettinger/Terril

Rebekah Rolling, jr., North Sentral Kossuth

Alyssa Schwartz, sr., Woden-Crystal Lake-Titonka

Danielle Widen, sr., Woden-Crystal Lake-Titonka

Second Team All-Conference

Brooke Bennett, so, Twin River Valley

Anna Brandt, so., Harris-Lake Park

Jen Breidinger, sr., Clay Central-Everly

Sadie Forey, so., Ruthven-Ayrshire

Kelsey Gerhart, fr., North Sentral Kossuth

Malorie Girres, sr., Graettinger/Terril

Kayla Hartman, sr., West Bend-Mallard

Paige Hesch, so., Woden-Crystal Lake-Titonka

Jessica Marty, jr., Corwith-Wesley-LuVerne

Megan Sanders, jr., Armstrong-Ringsted

Honorable Mention All-Conference

Nicole Bannister, jr., Woden-Crystal Lake-Titonka

Cassidy Cirks, jr., Twin River Valley

Morgan Grabinoski, sr., Armstrong-Ringsted

Amy Leach, sr., Armstrong-Ringsted

Marisa Thilges, sr., West Bend-Mallard

Mikayla Valvick, sr., North Sentral Kossuth

Coach of the Year

Steve Waldstein, Armstrong-Ringsted