homepage logo

Lady E’Hawks Earn Post Season Honors

By Staff | Mar 10, 2009

Three members of the Emmetsburg lady E’Hawks basketball team have earned post-seasosn recognition for their play during the recently completed 2008-2009 Lakes Conference Basketball Season. The trio of players earned selection to the Lakes Conference All Conference Teams following balloting by the league coaches.

Senior Bailee Moore was selected to a position on the Lakes Conference Second Team All Conference squad, while senior teammates Jackie Barnes and Mollie Smith were both accorded Honorable Mention recognition by the league’s coaches for the Lady E’Hawks, who finished the 2008-2009 campaign with a record of four wins and 12 losses in league play.

Moore, a senior for Head Coach John Kennedy’s squad, scored 176 points on the season, an average of 8.4 points per game during the season. Moore made 63 of 173 field goal attempts for 36.4 percent shooting, and connected on 50 of 78 free throws for 64.1 percent accuracy. On defense, Moore collected 99 rebounds, dished out 13 assists and made 42 steals on the year.

Jackie Barnes scored a total of 126 points on the season, an average of 6 points per game. Barnes made 47 of 137 shots from inside the arc. 34.3 percent shooting, and at the line added 32 of 54 shots for 59.3 percent shooting. Defensively, Barnes grabbed 123 rebounds on the season, handed out 23 assists and blocked 13 shots with one steal.

Mollie Smith came up with 73 points on the year, a 3.5 point per game average for the Lady E’Hawks. Smith made 21 of 84 shots from two-point range, 25 percent, and added one three pointer out of six attempts for 16.7 percent shooting. At the charity stripe, Smith made 30 of 41 shots for 73.2 percent shooting. Smith came away with 102 rebounds, dished out five assists on the season and made 23 steals on defense.

The complete Lakes Conference All Conference Teams are listed as follows:

First Team

All Lakes Conference

*Amber Kirschbaum, Spirit Lake

*Brittany Peterson, Spencer

*Ally Mahrt, Spencer

*Slone Masters, Storm Lake

*Cassie Meylor, Storm Lake

*Brittany Boerhave, Sheldon

*Kayla Gesink, HWC

Alexis Bart, Sheldon

Alyssa Louison, LeMars.

– Unanimous selection

Second Team

All Lakes Conference

Mary Brown, Spirit Lake

Chelsie Stettnichs, Spirit Lake

Kelly Gerdeman, Spencer

Clare Goeken, Spencer

Megan Anderson, Spencer

Katie Blum, Storm Lake

Becca Fischer, Sheldon

Steph Fykstra, HWC

Bailee Moore, Emmetsburg

Honorable Mention

All Lakes Conference

Jackie Barnes, Emmetsburg

Mollie Smith, Emmetsburg