homepage logo

This Friday In Cherokee

By Staff | Mar 3, 2009

CHEROKEE – With the wrestling season concluded, the time has come for special recognitions for area wrestlers. Five local wrestlers will take to the mats one more time this Friday in the Northwest Iowa Wrestling Coaches and Officials Association Senior All Star Meet.

A total of 31 northwest Iowa wrestlers will participate in the event, which is set for 7 p.m. Friday night, March 6, at Washington high School in Cherokee.

Among the wrestlers who will be taking part in the Senior All Star meet will be Emmetsburg/Armstrong-Ringsted/Ruthven-Ayrshire seniors Jordan Cody and Adam Leuer, along with Graettinger/Terril seniors James Tatman, Jake Hoffman and Kyle Brown.

The honorary tournament director is Bob Roethler, who coached Emmetsburg to consecutive Class 2A state championships from 1976-79. Roethler is a member of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame.

One of the all-star teams will be coached by the Milt Martin, another member of the National Wrestling Hall of Fame. Martin had a 462-138-12 career coaching record at Westmar University of Le Mars, leading the Eagles from 1962 to 1997.

Okoboji Coach Justin Bouse, who was recently named the Northwest Iowa Class 1A district coach of the year, will coach the other squad. Bouse will be assisted by Le Mars Coach Tom Smalley, who was named the 1997 Class 3A state coach of the year.


112: Seaton Sandbulte, Sioux Center; Cory Pinkley, Sergeant Bluff-Luton; James Tatman, Graettinger-Terril.

119: Agustine Martinez, Sioux Center; Chris Mead, Westwood; John Van Beest, Sioux City North.,

130: Seth Epling, Woodbury Central; Tim Vore, Sioux City East.

135: Jordan Cody, Emmetsburg/Armstrong-Ringsted/Ruthven-Ayrshire; Derrick Miner, Spirit Lake; Houston Hieronimus, Sibley-Ocheyedan.

140: Brad Cabrera, Manson-Northwest Webster; Curtis Hayes, Sioux Center.

145: Justin Truckenmiller, Sibley-Ocheyedan.

152: Ted Kruger, Sibley-Ocheyedan; Sean Bainbridge, Kingsley-Pierson.

160: Joe Sievert, Akron-Westfield; Jeremy Hemer, Odebolt-Arthur/Battle Creek-Ida Grove.

171: Brian Block, Sibley-Ocheyedan; Dakota Miller, Lawton-Bronson.

189: Landon Rasch, Manson-Northwest Webster; Tom Brinkman, Pocahontas Area/Pomeroy-Palmer; Jake Hoffman, Graettinger-Terril; Sean Elliott, Spencer.

215: Tyler Kacmaryinski, Spencer; Adam Leuer, Emmetsburg/Armstrong-Ringsted/Ruthven-Ayrshire; Jay Kruger, Sibley-Ocheyedan.

285: Jordan Mitchell, Westwood; Kyle Triereweiler, Sibley-Ocheyedan; Andrew Finzen, Sioux City West; Kyle Brown, Graettinger-Terril.