homepage logo

E’Hawks Close Dual Season With Split

By Staff | Jan 29, 2009

PIN?HIM! - Emmetsburg/AR/RA’s Justin Firkins works to get TRV/WBM’s Tyler Maggard into pinning position during Tuesday’s dual with the Thunder and Pocahontas Area. Firkins would go on to pin Maggard in 4:53 of his match, but the E’Hawks would be edged by the Thunder, 38-35. Emmetsburg/AR/RA came back to beat Pocahontas Area/Pomeroy-Palmer by a 53-30 tally. -- Dan Voigt photo

POCAHONTAS – The dual season ended for the E’Hawks of Emmetsburg/Armstrong-Ringsted/Ruthven-Ayrshire on Tuesday night. The E’Hawks lost a hard-fought match to the third-ranked Twin River Valley-West Bend-Mallard squad by a 38-35 margin, but rallied to defeat Pocahontas Area/ Pomeroy-Palmer by a 53-30 tally to end the dual season with a 10-14 mark.

The E’Hawks will next see action this Friday, Jan. 30, when they wrestle in the Lakes Conference Tournament at Spencer High School. Action starts at 5 p.m.

E’Hawks vs


145 Joey Brandenburg pinned in 3:15 by Levi Peters

152 Joey Naig 3:38 win by fall over Andrew Miller

160 Ben McCain pinned in 5:55 by Cody Hubrich

171 Howard Henkelvig pinned in :19 by Nate Tool

189 Jake Morris :25 win by fall over Justin Sieferd

215 Adam Leuer 1:05 win by fall over Phillip Roethler

285 Taylor Morris lost 3-0 decision to Bryce Jenson

103 Isaac Lundgren lost 6-2 decision to Brance Simms

112 Justin Studer 3:04 Technical Fall (16-1) over Cody Maggard

119 Justin Firkins 4:53 win by fall over Tyler Maggard

125 Matt Weir pinned in 1:03 by Sean Schneider

130 Jake Stubbs 1:53 win by fall over Isaac Trexel

135 Jordan Cody lost 6-5 decision to Sam Halverson

140 E’Hawk forfeit to Peyton Vote

Final Score

E’Hawks 35


E’Hawks vs

Pocahontas Area/PP

152 Joey Naig 1:46 win by fall over Shane Kirkegard

160 Ben McCain pinned in 1:10 by Kendall Sommerlot

171 Howard Henkelvig pinned in :44 by Anthony Harrington

189 Jake Morris :25 win by fall over Tom Brinkman

215 Adam Leuer 3:32 win by fall over Tyler Schneidermiller

285 Taylor Morris :43 win by fall over Kolten Koppen

103 Isaac Lundgren win by forfeit

112 Justin Studer 2:59 win by fall over Taylor Hallberg

119 Justin Firkins pinned in 1:25 by Daus Smith

125 Matt Weir pinned in :51 by Mike Meyer

130 Jake Stubbs 5:30 Technical Fall (21-6) over Devin Ellrich

135 Jordan Cody 2:45 win by fall over Tony Frette

140 Joey Brandenburg 3:16 win by fall over Luke Sommerlot

145 E’Hawk forfeit to Spencer Beekman

Final Score

E’Hawks 53

Pocahontas Area/PP 30