homepage logo

Ruthven Native To Be Inducted To 2009 IHSAA Hall Of Fame

By Staff | Dec 24, 2008

BOONE – A Ruthven native who played basketball at both the collegiate and NBA level will be one of several Iowans who will be inducted in the Iowa High School Athletic Association’s 2009 Hall of Fame early next year.

Loren “Spike” Meyer will join five other basketball players and three coaches to be inducted into the IHSAA Basketball Hall of Fame at the Boys State Tournament in March.

A 1991 graduate of Ruthven-Ayrshire High School, Loren Meyer scored nearly 2,000 career points and was a two time All-State selection.Recruited by former coach Johnny Orr, Loren played four years at Iowa State University, earning All-Big 8 Conference honors.

Following graduation from Iowa State, Loren was drafted in the NBA draft to play three season with the Dallas Mavericks before concluding his professional career with the Phoenix Suns and the Denver Nuggets before retiring.

Joining Meyer to be inducted into the IHSAA Basketball Hall of Fame in Ceremonies on March 14 are the following former players and coaches.

Carl Cochran, Tri-Center, Neola – posted 40 year record of 551-330 (12th all-time) with stops at Elk

Horn-Kimballton and Tri-Center, Neola. He coached Tri-Center to five state tournament appearances, including second in 1986 and back-to-back trips in 2007 and 2008.

Jerry Slykhuis, Cedar Falls – 40 year career mostly at Cedar Falls after starting at Fort Madison. Career record of 531-305 (19th all time on the win list). Had six state tournament teams – two at Fort Madison and four at Cedar Falls (1977- fourth; 1987- third).

Paul Jungblut, Postville – spent 27 years at Postville where he produced state tournament teams in 1990 and 1991 (third) and a career record of 384-141. Has been retired for the past four seasons.

Todd Sears, Ankeny (1994) – scoring leader and all-state selection on Ankeny’s 1993 and 94 State Tournament teams. He played successfully at Creighton University. He retired from a professional baseball career this fall.

Russ Millard – Cedar Rapids Washington (1991) – outstanding prep career and dominate rebounder and inside scorer. All state honors in 1990 and 91. He played at the University of Iowa, where he earned All-Big 10 recognition.

Craig Douma, Maurice-Orange City (1990) – starter on three state tournament teams including the 1988 and 1989 champions. Still holds state tourney game (11) and single tournament record (20) for the most 3-pt field goals; he was a NAIA All American at Northwestern College. Successful high school coach in Iowa at South O’Brien and currently at Carroll.

Roger Dutton, Boone (1963) – top scorer in the Central Iowa Conference, two of his three years. He was the top vote getter on the one-class All-State Team in 1963, when he averaged 20.1 ppg, and led Boone to the State Tournament. Started and starred three years at Univeristy of Northern Illinois, before following a professional baseball career in the New York Yankees chain.

Bill Francis, Palmer (1983) – led Palmer to its first ever State Championship in 1983. Captained the all-tournament team and was second team All-State. Had a great career at Northwestern College with over 1,800 career points. He is currently coaching at Boyden-Hull (239-114).

Additionally, several former coaches and wrestlers will be inducted into the IHSAA’s Wrestling Hall of Fame at the state Tournament on championship night, Feb. 21.

One coach and four former wrestlers will be honored during the 5:45 p.m. Awards segment prior to the championship matches at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

Those being inducted are Royce Duncan, coach at Pleasant Valley, and former state champions Bruce Kinseth of Decorah; Kevin Dresser of Humboldt, Paul Weltha of Ames, and Lee Fullhart of Decorah.

Royce Duncan, Pleasant Valley; has coached 31 years at the same high school. Third on the all-time win list 409-145-4. Coached 114 state qualifiers with 45 earning place medal status Mentored four state champions including his sons Brandon and Creighton. Has been a leader in promoting the image of the sport in the Quad Cities area.

Bruce Kinseth, Decorah – three time state meet qualifier and 1975 state champion at 132 lbs. Went on to be a two-time All-American, Big 10 and NCAA Champion for Iowa. He has been a highly successful business person in the hotel industry.

Kevin Dresser, Humboldt – two time state champion in 1980 and 1981. Was a two-time Big 10 champion and All-American at the University of Iowa where he won the 1986 NCAA title. He enjoyed extensive high school coaching success in Virginia. He is currently the head wrestling coach at Virginia Tech.

Paul Weltha, Ames – a three time state qualifier and a two time champion at heavyweight in 1986 and 1987. Was a football and wrestling All-American at Iowa Central where he was a runner up and national champion in wrestling. He went on to success in football and wrestling at Western Illinois. Currently teaching and coaching at Bloomington (Ill.) High School.

Lee Fullhart, Decorah – three time state champion in 1992 (160), 1993 (171) and 1994 (189). Had a 107-18 record at University of Iowa, where he was a four time All-American with finishes of fourth, third, second and first in the NCAA’s.