homepage logo

E’Hawk Grapplers Finish Sixth At Fort Dodge Tourney

By Staff | Dec 23, 2008

FORT DODGE – Despite a blustery day outside, the E’Hawk wrestlers of Emmetsburg/Armstrong-Ringsted/Ruthven-Ayrshire crowned one champion at the Don Miller Invitational Tournament at Fort Dodge Senior High School on Saturday.

Adam Leuer would claim the top honors at 215 pounds for Coach Zach Hamann’s E’Hawks, while Jordan Cody and Jake Morris would earn runner-up honors for the team, which placed sixth overall in the tourney field.

For Leuer, the tournament opened with a first-round 2:46 fall over Travis Ziegler of Bettendorf. Leuer then defeated Nolan Proehl of Davenport by a 4-0 in the semi-finals to earn the right to meet Kyle Mohr of Council Bluffs Lewis Central, and won the title with a hard-fought 4-3 decision victory.

Freshman Isaac Lundgren would start his day at 103 pounds with a :27 win by fall over Gage Arndt of Webster City, and followed that up with an 8-0 major decision victory over Matt Birnbaum of Fort Dodge in the semi-final round. But in the championship match, Lundgren was pinned by Richie Eikenberry of Bettendorf in 3:12 of the mat to give Lundgren the runner-up finish at 103.

Jordan Cody would finish in second place at 135 pounds after opening the tournament with a 4:57 win by fall over Brady Hartmann of Webster City. Cody would then defeat Chase Eggers of Newton by a 4-2 score in the semi-finals to earn his chance at a title by wrestling Elijah Sullivan of Council Bluffs Lewis Central. In the title match, Sullivan would score a 3:10 win by fall over Cody, giving the E’Hawk the runner-up finish at 135.

It was a similar story at 189 pounds for Jake Morris. Morris began his tournament with a :51 pin over Webster City’s Jacob Bullock ,and then pinned Tyler Wingerson of Fort Dodge in 5:32 of the semi final. For the championship match, Morris and Alex Schwerdtfeger of Bettendorf would meet on the mat, where Schwerdtfeger would earn a 10-3 decision victory over Morris, forcing the E’Hawk to settle for second place.

At 152 pounds, the E’Hawks’ Joey Naig pinned Josh Thompson of Ames in 3:52 to start the tourney, but Naig then met up with his nemesis of the past two weekends, Fort Dodge’s Cody Marsh, who defeated Naig in a 7-1 decision in the semi-finals. Naig moved into the consolation round, where he pinned Ryan Reissen of the Fort Dodge JV in 3:59. Naig then defeated Nick Pursel of Council Bluffs Lewis Central by an 8-6 decision to win the third place honors.

Heavyweight Taylor Morris pinned Scott Klinkel of Ames in the opening round in :48, but lost his semi-final round match to Max Pelfrey of Newton in a 1:11 fall. Morris moved into the consolation round where he earned a 3-2 decision over Josh Evans of Webster City, but in the consolation championship match against Sean Springer of Fort Dodge, Morris lost a 3-2 decision to settle for the fourth place honors.

The E’Hawks got a fifth place finish at 112 pounds from Justin Studer, as he opened the day with a 3:03 win by fall over Monty Arends of Fort Dodge. In the semi-final, Studer was pinned in 3:08 by Tyler Feller of Council Bluffs Lewis Central to fall into the consolation bracket. Studer would wrestle Drake Swarm of Bettendorf and lost a 6-1 decision to move to the fifth place match. Studer then wrestled Jared Price of Davenport West, and earned a 15-9 decision to win fifth place for the E’Hawks.

At 140 pounds, Nate Schany started the day losing a technical fall to Schunichiro Uno of Bettendorf in 5:59 of the opening match. Schany then decisioned Luke Shannon of Webster City in the consolation first round, but lost a 12-1 major decision to Zeb Wahle of Council Bluffs Lewis Central. Dropping into the fifth place bracket, Schany met his first round opponent Schunichiro Uno of Bettendorf, and was the victim of a 1:22 fall to settle for sixth place honors.

Wrestling at 145 pounds, Joey Brandenburg was the victim of an opening round 5:33 fall to Ben Swalla of Ames. Brandenburg moved into the consolation round, where he scored a 4:45 win by fall over Caleb Kennedy of Webster City, but against Dakota Halligan of Davenport West, Brandenburg lost a 17-6 major decision. Dropping into the fifth place match, Brandeburg wrestled Ben Schwery of Council Bluffs Lewis Central, but was pinned in 3:11 to finish in sixth place.

At 119 pounds, Nick Larsen was pinned in 2:19 of his opening round match with Jay Hildreth of Council Bluffs Lewis Central, but Larsen then lost a 1:23 fall to Daniel Jahren of Ames. Moving into the seventh place bracket, Larsen drew a bye to finish in seventh place.

Ben McCain wrestled at 160 for the E’Hawks and was pinned in 1:27 of his first round match against Joey Trizzino of Bettendorf, and then was pinned in 1:24 of his opening consolation round match with Jesse Frields of Davenport West. McCain then moved to the seventh place match, where he earned a 3-1 decision victory over Cody Crouch of Webster City to claim the seventh place honors for the E’Hawks.

Matt Weir would finish in eighth place at 125 pounds for the E’Hawks on Saturday. Weir was pinned in :33 of the first round match by Joe Powers of Webster City and then lost a 2:30 fall at the hands of Levi Harms of Newton in the consolation round. Weir then wrestled Nick Mayberry of Ames for seventh place, but Mayberry scored a :50 fall over Weir to give the E’Hawk the eighth place finish.

Rounding out the efforts at 171 pounds, Howard Henkelvig was pinned in 1:04 of his opening round match against Patrick Gillespie of Council Bluffs Lewis Central, and then lost his consolation opener to Garrett Johnson of Webster City in a 6-4 decision. In the match for seventh place, Henkelvig was pinned by Rico Bessera of Davenport West in 5:23 of the match to finish in eighth place.

The E’Hawks were open at 130 pounds for the tournament.

After the holiday break, Emmetsburg/Armstrong-Ringsted/Ruthven-Ayrshire will resume action on Tuesday, Jan. 6, when they make up a double dual with Sibley-Ocheyedan and Graettinger/Terril at Graettinger. Action starts at 6 p.m.