homepage logo

Claim Three Titles

By Staff | Dec 16, 2008

GET THE TAKEDOWN - Jordan Cody works for control of Central Lyon’s Jesse Vanderstreek during the championship match at 134 pounds at the Emmetsburg Invitational on Saturday. Cody would earn a 7-4 decision victory in the match to win the title at 135 as the E”Hawks would finish fourth in their own tournament. -- Dan Voigt photo.

As the temperatures began to drop outside, the action heated up on the mats Saturday at the E’Hawk Invitational Wrestling Tournament. The host E’Hawks of Emmetsburg/Armstrong-Ringsted/ Ruthven-Ayrshire would crown three individual champions in their own tourney on their way to a fourth place finish. Odeboldt-Arthur/Battle Creek/Ida Grove would take the championship in the team race, with Fort Dodge finishing second and Storm Lake taking third place honors.

Once again, the E’Hawks got a championship from freshman 103 pounder Isaac Lundgren, along with 135 pounder Jordan Cody and senior 215 pounder Adam Leuer.

Joey Naig would take second at 152 pounds, while Justin Studer earned third at 112 and Jake Morris claimed third at 189 pounds. Taylor Morris would finish fourth at heavywweight, while Jake Stubbs at 130 and Nate Schany at 140 would both earn fifth place finishes for the E’Hawks.

Isaac Lundgren took his second tournament title in a week by earning a fall over Mason Cook of LeMars in 1:52 of the semi-finals, and then taking an 11-4 decision win over Devon Pierce of OA/BC-IG.

In action at 135, Jordan Cody opened with a 3:40 win by fall over Eli Beane of Fort Dodge and then earned a 5:59 win by fall over Patrick Eason of OA/BC-IG in the semi-finals. For the title, Cody defeated Jesse Vanderstreek by an 11-7 decision.

Adam Leuer would open his day at 215 with a 1:40 win by fall over Alen Sites of Central Lyon before pinning Gabe Bonner of Estherville Lincoln Central in 1:43 of the semi-final s. Leuer then pinned Doug Schwaller of Okoboji in 3:56 to earn his tournament title on Saturday.

In action at 152, Joey Naig took a 2:40 win by fall over D.J. Peterson of ELC, and then earned a 4-3 decision victory over Tyler Down of OA/BC-IG. In the finals, Naig was paired off against Fort Dodge’s Cody Marsh, his opponent from a week earlier at Eagle Grove. Marsh would take the title on a 15-5 major decision, giving Naig the runner-up medal at 152.

Justin Studer lost his first-round match by an 11-10 decision to Evan Salmon on OA/BC-IG, but earned a 7-0 decision over Monty Arends of Fort Dodge in the consolation semi-final before scoring an 18-8 Major Decision revenge win over Evan Salmon for the third place honors at 112 pounds.

Jake Morris, wrestling at 189, took a first-round :45 win by fall over Shane Vanderpool of Okoboji, but lost a 9-6 decision to Tyler Wingerson of Fort Dodge in the semi-finals. For the consolation semi, Morris pinned Joel Hanson of Humboldt in 1:05 and then pinned Spencer Vore of LeMars for third place in 1:37.

Taylor Morris ran afoul of Fort Dodge’s Sean Springer in the first round and was pinned in 1:42. Moving into the consolation bracket, Morris earned a 4-2 decision win over Scott Hoefling of OA/BC-IG and then took a 2-1 decision win over Cody Boge of Humboldt before meeting Springer again for the Consolation final, but Springer would once again earn the win in a :47 fall, giving Morris fourth place on the day.

Jake Stubbs would earn a fifth place finish on the day Saturday after he was the victim of an opening round 13-3 major decision to Dalton Hemer of OA/BC-IG. Stubbs would pine Brody Linn of Okboboji in 1:43 and then earned a 6-4 decision win over Keegan Nelson of Fort Dodge before losing a 12-6 decision of Joel Christensen of ELC. For fifth place, Stubbs received a win by injury default over Tanner Boyd of Humboldt.

At 140 pounds, Nate Schany lost an 8-5 decision to Seth Shatto of ELC in the first round, but pinned Jesko Peterson of LeMars in 1:31. Brent Stickrod of OA/BC-IG would pin Schany in 1:52, but in the fifth place match, Schany scored a 1:11 win by fall over Seth Shatto of ELC for the medal.

At 171 pounds, Ben McCain was pinned in 1:26 of the first round and then was eliminated after being pinned in 1:25 by Ethan Bartlett of Fort Dodge.

Joey Brandenburg opened the day at 160 earning a 1:01 win by fall over ELC’s Matt McMurtry, but lost a 10-2 Major Decision to Alex Vitzthum of Humboldt. Brandenburg was then pinned by Pat Lahr of Okoboji to end his tournament.

At 125 pounds, Matt Weir was pinned in :07 in the opening round of the tournament and after earning a bye in the first consolation round, Weir was pinned by Nick Olthoff of Humboldt in :43 to end his tournament appearance.

Rounding out the efforts for the E’Hawks was Nick Larsen at 119 pounds. Larsen lost his first round match to Brian Gomez of Storm Lake in a 5:36 fall to move into the consolation round. Larsen drew an opening bye, but was pinned by cody Louscher of Okoboji in 5:36 to end his tournament appearance for the E’Hawk wrestlers.