homepage logo

Hough To Be Inducted To Hall Of Fame

By Staff | Nov 13, 2008

BOONE – A former Graettinger High School football coach and two of his former adversaries from Terril will be inducted into the Iowa Football Coaches Hall of Fame at this year’s Iowa Football Championships. A fourth coach, along with six former prep players, will also be Also, four high school coaches will also be honored by the Iowa High School Athletic Association Hall of Fame in ceremonies that will take place at the intermission of the Class 4A Championship, Friday, Nov. 21, at the UNI Dome in Cedar Falls.

Former Graettinger Head Coach Rod Hough will be joined by former Terril coaches Bob Strouse and Neal Phipps in being inducted in the IFCA Hall of Fame, along with Bob McCoy of Bedford.

The star-laden players span the years, 1959 through 1993. Each of the six earned first team all-state recognition and played in college. Four were prep All-Americans and four played in high school championship games.

Forming the honored class includes Bob Kreamer, Des Moines Roosevelt, 1959; Dave Schreck, Coon Rapids, 1979; Mike Flagg, Cedar Falls, 1983; Rob Sinclair, GMG, Garwin, 1988; Ryan Bakke, Garner-Hayfield, 1992; and Tavian Banks, Bettendorf, 1993.

Rod Hough


With a career record of 196 wins and 87 losses Rod Hough ranks among the top 50 Iowa high school football coaches all-time in wins.

Under his direction Graettinger teams won eight Cornbelt Conference titles and four district crowns, as well as qualifying for the state football play-offs seven times before his retirement from coaching in 2005.

An alumnus of Mallard High School and a 1973 graduate of Northwestern College in Orange City, Hough started his career as an assistant coach at Graettinger in 1974 for two seasons, before he assumed the head coaching reins for the next 31 seasons.

Hough’s 1976 and 1983 Pirates both finished as state runners-up with their only setbacks in those seasons coming in the title game. His 1977, 1980 and 1981 teams were also unbeaten.

Currently, Hough stays involved in athletics, as he works part-time as the athletics director for Graettinger-Terril High School.

Neal Phipps

Cherokee Washington

With 30 years in the profession and 22 as a head coach, Neal Phipps has consistently modeled the excellence expected in the profession on and off the field. A graduate of Cherokee, Phipps earned a 1978 degree from the University of Northern Iowa.

He posted winning records at Holstein, Terril and seven campaigns at Aurelia, where his 1986 club went 11-1 as the state runner-up and he was Northwest Iowa coach of the year. In 1990 he took the challenge of rebuilding a struggling Northern University High, Cedar Falls program and transformed them into a formidable opponent.

Phipps was a successful track coach and at Northern University High in Cedar Falls he won coach of the year honors in 2002 when he directed the girls to the 1A State Championship.

Phipps then returned to northwest Iowa and Cherokee as a teacher and athletics director in 2002. This past season he returned to the sidelines and coached the Braves into postseason play.

Bob Strouse

Terril, Okoboji

After playing his high school football Le Mars, Bob Strouse graduated from Westmar College in 1967 and embarked on a 30-year career as a head coach.

Strouse directed Terril and the Tigers for 13 seasons before taking over the reigns of the Pioneers at Okoboji-Milford through 17 campaigns. His teams won six Cornbelt titles while at Terril where he had five unbeaten regular seasons with two play-off appearances.

From 1970 through 1973 Terril had the state’s longest winning streak at 32 games. At Okoboji, he coached the Pioneers to two Sioux Valley Conference crowns and a playoff appearance in 1980.

He and his late brother Rich are among a handful of brothers to coach teams into the playoffs. After the 1997 season he retired with 158 career victories. Six times he won awards from the Iowa Football Coaches Association, as well as being honored by the Northwest Iowa Coaches and Westmar College as a coach of the year.