homepage logo

Cornbelt Conference Elite Softball Team Announced

By Staff | Jul 29, 2008

Several local players received post-season recognition for their play in the Cornbelt Conference softball campaign during the recently completed season. Voting on the post-season honors was completed by the league coaches.

Softball players from Graettinger/Terril, West Bend-Mallard and Ruthven-Ayrshire all earned recognition on the Cornbelt Conference All Confernece teams.

For the Graettinger/Terril Knights, Theresa Peterson earned First Team recognition as a utility player.

Dakota Hovinga, a third baseman, and outfielder Tasha Neilson were named to positions on the Second Team unit and catcher Jennie Mart was accorded Honoable mention recognition for the Knights.

For West Bend-Mallard, the Lady Wolverines had fiver players earn recognition. Kari Zinnel and Kayla Hartman were both selected to the First Team All Conference squad as utility players, while Michela Grimm, Missy Abrahamson and Courtney Laubenthal were both named to the Second Team All Conference squad.

The Ruthven-Ayrshire Raiders had one player, Cassidy Smith, receive Second Team All Conference recognition.

The complete 2008 Cornbelt Conference All Conferrence Teams are listed as follows:



All Conference

First Team


Stacy Schutjer, WCLT

Jayna Blome, NSK

Amy Leach, A-R


Jordan Vaske, NSK

Alyssa Schwartz, WCLT

First base

Courtney Haag, NSK

Second base

Melanie Hoffman, WCLT


Rebekkah Rolling, NSK

Third Base

April Gunderson, A-R


Lisa Pelzer, A-R

Megan Rolling, NSK

Brittney Bennett, TRV


Nicole Bannister, WCLT

Kari Zinnel, WBM

Kayla Hartman, WBM

Theresa Petersen, GT

Devon Schwartz, CWL

Cassie Atwood, TRV

Second Team

Michela Grimm, WBM

Laura Brugman, CCE

Cassidy Smith, RA

Missy Abrahamson, WBM

Brittany Banwart, TRV

Sam Thilges, WCLT

Logan Evans, A-R

Brianne Gonzales, A-R

Dakota Hovinga, GT

Rosie Cheever, AR

Tasha Neilson, GT

Courtney Laubenthal, WBM

Hannah Kofron, WCLT

Kelsie Mino, NSK

Morgan Grabinoski, AR

Lindsey Reese, HLP

Jenna Biedenfeld, CCE

Jenna Peters, HLP

Honorable Mention

Michele Iris, A-R

Megan Sanders, A-R

Jennie Mart, GT

Genna Valvick, NSK

Abby Ingalls, NSK