homepage logo

E’Hawks Earn All Conference Diamond Honors

By Staff | Jul 24, 2008

Several members of the Emmetsburg E’Hawk Baseball team earned post-season recognition for their play in the 2008 Lakes Conference baseball campaign. Coach Mike Brennan’s E’Hawks finished their season with a mark of 8-8 in the Lakes Conference and 15-12 overall on the season.

Leading the way for the E’Hawks was senior pitcher Ryan Wuebker, who earned First Team infielder honors. Wuebker sported a .391 batting average during the conference season and had 13 RBI’s, with three home runs for the E’Hawks.

Earning recognition on the Second Team All Lakes Confernence squad were senior Mitch Wagner as an outfielder and junior Taylor Morris as an infielder.

Wagner, the E’Hawks’ center fielder, batted .377 in league games this season, with 11 RBI’s and a home run.

Morris, who saw action as the E’Hawks’ shortstop, batted .394 during the campaign, with 12 RBI’s and five home run shots, and also scored 26 runs during the season.

Rounding out the players receiving recognition for the E’Hawks were Bobby Mortenson and Tyler Kliegl in the infield.

Mortenson, who saw action both in the outfield and primarily behind the plate, batted .317 for the E’Hawks with 13 RBI’s and six home runs during the season.

Kliegl, who played third base and shortstop, batted .340 during the season with 11 RBI’s and had one home run.

The complete 2008 Lakes Conference All Conference teams are as follows:



*Cody Ege, Cherokee

Keith Fandel, E-LC

Adam Hasselquist, LeMars


*Tyler Jones, Cherokee

Greg Anderson, Spencer

1st Base:

Austin Peterson, Spencer


Matt Koch, Cherokee

Taylor Zeutenhorst, Sheldon

Ryan Wuebker, Emmetsburg

Aaron Fisher. LeMars


*Chris Lensing, Spencer

*Kyle Schuett, Cherokee *Ethan Carslon, Spirit Lake *Tyler Candor, LeMars


Matt Gruhlke, E-LC

Kyle Ruehle, Cherokee

*=Unanimous Selection



Ben Seaman, Storm Lake


Tony Pertzborn, Storm Lake

1st Base:

Marcus Stangl, E-LC


Nick Tjebben, Spencer Michael McCabe, Storm Lake

Taylor Morris, Emmetsburg


Courtney Goodchild, Storm Lake

.Scott Schmidt, E-LC

Mitch Wagner, Emmetsburg


Nick Pulscher, Sheldon

Tim Jones, Cherokee

Honorable Mention:

Tyler Kliegl, Emmetsburg Bobby Mortenson,