homepage logo

Palo Alto DU Co-Hosting Special Event

By Staff | Mar 13, 2008

In an ongoing effort to promote the cause of waterfowl preservation and habitat protection and restoration, the Palo Alto Sportsman’s Chapter of Ducks Unlimited is jointing with Ducks Unlimited groups from the Iowa Great Lakes region to host a new event. The Waterfowl Hunter’s Party is part of the Ducks Unlimited Wings of Innovation program that provides an evening of special events geared towards waterfowl hunters.

The Waterfowl Hunter’s Party is going to be held tonight, Thursday, March 13, at the Arnolds Park Pavilion in Arnolds Park, starting at 6 p.m. The event is a collaboration of the Lakes Area Ducks Unlimited, Palo Alto Sportsmen’s Ducks Unlimited, and the Marsh Marigolds Ducks Unlimited chapters.

“This is not a typical Ducks Unlimited banquet-style event,” noted Palo Alto Sportsman’s DU member Brian Garrels. “The admission ticket will include your Ducks Unlimited membership, food and beverages. It will also give attendees access to raffles for over 60 plus dozen Avery decoys and other accessories including lay-out blinds, field bags and shotguns.”

Garrels continued, “This is an opportunity to win vast amounts of waterfowling equipment. Why, the allure of 60 dozen decoys is too much to resist!”

Raffle packages include a winner-take-all Field Hunter raffle that includes a layout blind, Canada goose decoys, Mallard decoys, blind bag and gun bag. There will be 25 winners of special decoy raffles for goose floaters, Mallards, Canvasbacks, and Teal. A major tier raffle with multiple winners contains Mallards, Bluebills, Pintail, Canvasback, and Teal decoys. Also planned are special additional raffles for decoy bags, wading vests, and select shotguns. Attendees wearing camo shirts or pants get a free chance at a Benelli Nova 12 gauge Max-4 Camo shotgun.

Tickets can be obtained from any member of the Palo Alto Sportsmen’s Ducks Unlimited chapter: Brian Hospelhorn, Clint Young, Kort Freeman, Ron Ludwig, Grant Duhn, Ron Riha, Chad Fank, Andy Joyce, Tim Stowell, Brent Steinkamp, and Brian Garrels.