homepage logo

New Football Districts Released

By Staff | Feb 21, 2008

The conjecture is over and suspicions have been confirmed – the new football district asignments were released by the Iowa High School Athletic Association Wednesday morning for the upcoming 2008 and 2009 seasons.

For the Emmetsburg E’Hawks, there will be a major change, along with the Graettinger/Terril Knights and West Bend-Mallard Wolverines. All three teams move into new classes of competition, while the Ruthven-Ayrshire Raiders remain in the Eight-Man ranks, but will see some new competition.

For the Emmetsburg E’Hawks, it will be a season of class 1A football, as the E’Hawks dropped down a class for the upcoming two year cycle. Emmetsburg will be a member of Class 1A District Two, and will resume rivalries with several old foes. Other members of Class 1A District Two include Belmond-Klemme, who move up from Class A last season, along with West Hancock. Garner-Hayfield also drops to Class 1A along with the E’Hawks. Other teams in the district will include Lake Mills, Rockwell Swaledale/SCMT, St. Ansgar and St. Edmonds of Fort Dodge.

For the Graettinger/Terril Knights and West Bend-Mallard Wolverines, both teams move into the Eight-Man ranks, and will find a home in District Two. However, both the Knights and Wolverines will see some familiar faces, including the Ruthven-Ayrshire Raiders. In addition, Armstrong-Ringsted, Harris-Lake Park, Laurens-Marathon, North Sentral Kossuth and Twin River Valley will make a geographically friendly district for the teams in the district, eliminating some major travel concerns for member schools.