homepage logo

Crown Two Champions: E’Hawks Third At Lakes Conference Tourney

By Staff | Jan 29, 2008

SPENCER – With a pair of Lakes Conference Champions, the E’Hawks of Emmetsburg/Armstrong-Ringsted claimed a third place finish at the 2008 Lakes Conference Wrestling Tournament Friday in Spencer. The E’Hawks were led by senior Matt Stillman, who earned his fourth Lakes Championship, and Jordan Cody collecting his first title in the league tournament.

Spencer would win the tourney, with Spirit Lake Park taking second place.

The E’Hawks sent 10 wrestlers into the finals, and with the two championships from Cody and Stillman, earned second place finishes from Joey Naig at 152, Jake Morris at 171 and Adam Leuer at 215 pounds. Joey Brandenburg placed third at 140 pounds, while Ridge Christiansen placed fourth at 189.

Nick Larsen, wrestling at 112 pounds, Jake Stubbs at 125 and Tyler Schmeling, wrestling at 160, all finished in fifth place for the E’Hawks.

For Matt Stillman, his time on the mat at 145 pounds on Friday didn’t total two and a half minutes. In a pigtail round of wrestling, Stillman pinned Tyson Enderson of ELC in :31 and then pinned Ross Hoksbergen of Western Christian in just :23 before he pinned Dan Ridenour of Sheldon-South O’Brien in :57 to earn his title appearance. Against Matt Wilkerson of Spencer, Stillman immediately took Wilkerson to the mat and tallied his fourth Lakes Individual title with the :23 win by fall.

At 119 pounds, Jordan Cody opened his day with a first-round bye, and then scored a 1:13 win by fall over Mike Faust of Sheldon-South O’Brien. In the finals, Cody was paired with Ryan Edwardson of Spencer. The E’Hawk wrestler took a 4-3 lead after one period and led 7-3 at the end of the second period before closing out the match with eight points in the final period to claim a 15-6 major decision victory for his individual championship.

For Joey Naig, the tournament started with an 11-1 major decision win over Brayton Ringsdorf of LeMars in the first round at 152 pounds. Naig then earned an 11-4 decision victory over Nick Schultzie of Spirit Lake Park, but in the finals, Naig would square off against Nick Loughlin of Cherokee, and came up short in a 13-3 major decision loss to finish second for the E’Hawks.

At 171 pounds, Jake Morris scored a :50 win by fall over Paco Vasquez of Storm Lake in the first round, and hen pinned Spencer Vore of LeMars in 3:07 of the semi-finals. For the championship match, Morris was paired with Thor Klinker of Sheldon-South O’Brien. Morris fell behind in the second period and couldn’t come back in the final period to lose a 1407 decision to Klinker to place second.

Adam Leuer, wrestling at 215 pounds, pinned Juan flores of Storm Lake in 3:16 of the first round match and then came up with a huge victory in the semi-finals, defeating Spencer’s Tyler Kacmarynski by an 8-5 decision to move to the title match. Meeting Alex Will of Spirit Lake Park, Leuer would battle Will to a 1-1 tie at the end of regulation , but was taken down with seconds left in the sudden victory overtime to lose 3-1 to Will and finish in second place.

Joey Brandenburg would finish in third place at 140 for the E’Hawks. Brandenburg started the day with a 1:59 win by fall over Chris VandeWeerd of Western Christian, but in the semi-finals, Brandenburg lost a 1-0 decision to Justin Hargrave of Spencer. In the consolation round, Brandenburg defeated Brandon Griffin of Spirit Lake Park with a 2:31 win by fall. Meeting Kurt Kruger of Sheldon-South O’Brien for third place, Brandenburg came up with a strong third period and scored a 4:51 win by fall over the Orab wrestler to earn third place.

At 189 pounds, Ridge Christiansen opened the tourney with a 9-9 tie with Spenser Schichtl of ELC at the end of regulation, but Christiansen scored the takedown in Sudden Death to earn the 11-9 decision win. In the semi-finals, Chistiansen was pinned in 1:32 by Josh Ihnen of Sheldon-South O’Brien. In the consolation bracket, Christiansen pinned Jerad Meis of LeMars in 3:18, but in the third place match, Christiansen lost a 4-2 decision to Sean Elliott f Spencer to finish fourth.

The E’Hawks got a fifth place finish from Nick Larsen at 112 pounds. Larsen was pinned in 1:12 by Justin Grieg of ELC in the first round, and then was pinned in :50 by Matt DeWild of Western Christian in the first consolation round. Wrestling for fifth place, Larsen scored a 1:29 win by fall over Miguel Rodriguez of Storm Lake to earn the placing.

At 125 pounds, Jake Stubbs had a tough road, as he lost a 17-1 Technical Fall in 2:54 to Derrik Miner of Spirit Lake Park in the first round of action. Stubbs then was pinned in 4:56 by Jose Diaz of Storm Lake in a consolation round match, but in the fifth place match, Stubbs dominated Jon Hofman of Western Christian and earned fifth place with a 3:43 win by fall.

Tyler Schmeling opened his day at 160 with a 6-3 decision loss to Jordan Rasmussen of Spencer, but came back in the consolation to defeat Pat Loughlin of Cherokee by a 6-3 decision. Schmeling then edged Ben Beitelspacher of LeMars by a 4-3 decision to move into the fifth place match, where he scored a 12-3 major decision victory over Tony Pertzborn of Storm Lake.

Taylor Morris, wrestling at heavyweight for the E’Hawks, was pinned in his opening round match by Casey Muessigmann of Spencer in :40. In the consolation round, Morris drew Chris Stevenson of LeMars and held 5-2 lead with :15 to go in their match, but Stevenson caught Morris in a take down and scored three near-fall points to eliminate Morris from the tournament in the 8-5 decision.

With the conference tournament behind them, the E’Hawks will spend the week preparing for this Saturday’s Class 2A Sectional Tournament, which Emmetsburg will host. Teams participating in the Sectional tourney will include Algona, Humboldt, Rockwell City-Lytton, Estherville Lincoln Central, Spirit Lake Park and the E’Hawks. First and second place finishers at each weight advance to the district meet, which will be held Saturday, Feb. 9, at Cherokee.

Wrestling action for the2A Sectional on Saturday, Feb. 2, gets underway at 12 noon at the Emmetsburg High School.