homepage logo

E’Hawks Crown Three Champions, Finish Third In Own Invite

By Staff | Dec 11, 2007

The E’Hawks of Emmetsburg/Armstrong-Ringsted collected three individual titles and earned a third place finish in their own invitational wrestling tournament Saturday. The Fort Dodge Dodgers repeated as the team champions of the event, with Central Lyon/George-Little Rock earning second place in the team race.

The E’Hawks got championships from Jordan Cody at 119, Matt Stillman at 145 and Jake Morris at 171 pounds, with a second place finish from Adam Leuer at 215 pounds. All told, the E’Hawks earned 12 placings on the day.

At 119 pounds, Jordan Cody started the day with a 12-7 decision ad then got a 3:40 pin to set up his final s match with Chris Rios of Storm Lake. Cody would control the match and earned a win by fall in 5:00 to take the tourney title.

Senior Matt Stillman got off to a quick start with a :30 win by fall to open the day, and then scored a 21-5 technical fall in 4:15 before he won the title at 145 with an 8-2 decision over Fort Dodge’s Nate Halverson.

Jake Morris would earn his first E’Hawk title at 171 pounds by starting with a :39 win by fall and then collecting a 13-7 decision. In the finals, Morris scored a 5:27 win by fall over Tyler Wingerson of Fort Dodge to win the championship.

The E’Hawks’ Adam Leuer started his day with a 5:58 win by fall and then collected a 4-2 decision to send him into the championship match at 215 pounds. Meeting Matt Tschetter of Okoboji, Leuer battled Tschetter closely before losing an 8-4 decision to settle for second place.

At 140 pounds, Joey Brandenburg would score a first-round win by fall in 1:33, but was he victim of a technical fall in the semi-finals, losing to Nate Herda of CL/GLR in 5:19 of their match by a 19-3 tally. But moving into the consolation brackets, Brandenburg scored a 16-5 major decision before he met Kyle Wittington of Fort Dodge, but came up short in a 9-4 decision to place fourth.

It would be the same story for Ridge Christiansen at 189 pounds. After a first round 13-5 major decision, Christiansen was decisioned 13-6 by Fort Dodge’s Matt Springer. In the consolation round, Christiansen would earn a 3:53 win by fall to set up his third place match against Spencer Vore of LeMars, but was caught and pinned in 1:56 to settle for the fourth place honors.

At 112 pounds, Nick Larsen was pinned in 1:27 of his first round match, but earned a 1:53 fall in the first consolation round, before being pinned by Cole Zimbelman of CL/GLR to drop into the fifth place match. Larsen would score a win by fall in 2:15 to earn the fifth place honors over Cody Cumming of LeMars.

Jake Stubbs would be the victim of a 17-2 technical fall in 4:00 of the first round match with Matt Boyington of Humboldt, but earned a 5:24 win by fall over Nathan Spoo of ELC. Stubbs would be pinned by Cody Marsh of Fort Dodge in 1:31 to move to the fifth place match, but he came back to win an 8-5 decision over Michael Mohr of Storm Lake for the fifth place finish.

Joey Naig would start his day at 152 out as the victim of a :43 fall to Spenser Taylor of Okoboji, but came back in the consolation bracket to earn an 11-0 major decision over Brayton Ringsdorf of LeMars. Naig would come up short in a 15-7 major decision to Tyler Down of Odebolt-Arthur/Battle Creek-Ida Grove, but in the fifth place match, Naig earned a measure of revenge by defeating his first-round foe, Spenser Taylor, with a 3:42 win by fall to take the fifth place finish.

At 103 pounds, Justin Firkins was pinned in :28 by Devon Pierce of OA/BCIG, and moved into the consolation bracket. After a bye, Firkins was pinned in 2:51 by Monty Arens of Fort Dodge, and in the fifth place match, Firkins would end up the victim of a 3:57 pin at the hands of Caige Roberts of Okoboji to settle for sixth place.

Blake Wiley would suffer a pin in 2:17 of his first round match at 135, but earned a 14-10 decision over Zach Reed of LeMars before being pinned in 2:27 of the consolation semi-final. Wiley moved into the fifth place match against Ryan Kaltved of ELC, but was pinned in 4:51 to give the E’Hawk sixth place.

The final placing came for Taylor Morris at heavyweight, after he lost a 12-2 major decision in the first round to Jacob Jamison of Fort Dodge. Morris then took a 2:45 win by fall over Shane Wegner of ELC, but was pinned by Jorge Hernandez of Storm Lake in 3:16. In the fifth place match, Morris ran afoul of Josh Munger of LeMars and was pinned in 2:18 to settle for sixth place.

At 160, Tyler Schmeling lost a 7-3 decision in the first round to Nate Howard of ELC, and moving into the consolation round, lost a 4-0 decision to Brian Beitelspacher of LeMars to end his day.

Nate Schany suffered a similar fate at 130 pounds, as he lost an 8-1 decision to Tanner Boyd of Humboldt in the first round and then was pinned by Jesse Vander Streek of CL/GLR to end his appearance.

The E’Hawks will return to action this Thursday when they host Estherville Lincoln Central and LeMars in a Lakes Conference double dual at Emmetsburg., starting at 6 p.m.