homepage logo

It’s In The Stars

By Staff | Apr 5, 2011

This isn’t really earthshaking news, but I’ve been trying to adapt to this change for a while now and I don’t think it’s going to happen. You see, several months ago, an astronomer from our neighboring state of Minnesota came out with a rather startling announcement.

There are now 13 astrological signs of the Zodiac, instead of the 12 we’ve all known and loved. How this fellow came up with this idea, who knows. My bet is that a batch of lutefisk unspoiled and disrupted his digestive system, forcing him to sit up all night and dream this deal up. Anyhow, after this revelation came to light, a friend sent me a news account from a suburban paper in the Kansas City area.

If you’ve been going through life thinking you are a Virgo, think again. An astronomer says that a shift in the Earth’s alignment has changed zodiac dates and added a 13th sign. So Virgos, how do you feel about being Leos?

Minnesota astronomer Parke Kunkle told a Minnesota TV station that the expected shift added a 13th Zodiac sign: Ophiuchus.

The news has caused an interplanetary uproar among people who read their daily horoscopes, as people who have been one sign or another their entire lives saying that they don’t know what to make of the shift, or if they like the idea of changing astrological signs.

Lauren Puche of Kansas City says that she is a Scorpio.

(If) Scorpio will have a good day or the week ahead promises good things, I’m, like, okay,” said Puche. “I don’t want to be a lion, I don’t want to be a bunny, I want to be a Scorpio. I don’t know what I would do (if that were to change).”

According to astronomers, the 12 “original” signs were assigned almost 3,000 years ago, and the position of the Earth in relation to the sun has changed, and according to Kunkle, changed your sign along with it.

Debbie Keil Leavitt is an astrologer, a person who looks for signs and effects on human events through the motions of the planets and stars as opposed to an astronomer, who is a trained scientific observer of the motion and behavior of stars, planets and other celestial objects. She says that the constellation Ophiuchus isn’t new.

It didn’t happen to be in a prominent place, either the equinoxes, the Winter solstice or the Summer solstice any time recently,” said Leavitt of the Aquarian Organization of Astrologers.

Since the Greeks first catalogued the constellations 3,000 years ago, the gravitational pull between the Earth and the Moon has caused a 23-degree shift in the Earth’s celestial position, meaning more planets appear to move through the constellation.

Levitt says that’s something astrologers like her will take into account when giving a reading for someone trying to see their future in the stars. But she says that she won’t change her view of the 12 original signs of the Zodiac.

“The predominance is when you’re looking in the newspaper and read your horoscope, you’re looking at 12 signs,” said Leavitt.

Just in case you’re wondering, here are the new dates for the 13 symbols of the new Zodiac (if you choose to believe)

Capricorn: Jan. 20 – Feb. 16

Aquarius: Feb. 16 – March 11

Pisces: March 11- April 18

Aries: April 18- May 13

Taurus: May 13- June 21

Gemini: June 21- July 20

Cancer: July 20- Aug. 10

Leo: Aug. 10- Sept. 16

Virgo: Sept. 16- Oct. 30

Libra: Oct. 30- Nov. 23

Scorpio: Nov. 23- Nov. 29

Ophiuchus: Nov. 29- Dec. 17

Sagittarius: Dec. 17- Jan. 20

So there you have it go along with it if you choose, or remain a non-believer and go with the flow. I think I’m going to skate with the non believers, because in all honesty, I don’t think I can even pronounce Ophiuchus, let along remember what he, she, or it is supposed to represent.