homepage logo

2020 4-H Leaders’ Appreciation & Awards Program

By Staff | Nov 12, 2020

This year the 2020 4-H Leaders’ Appreciation & Awards Program took on new format. Instead of an annual banquet, the awards program took place on Sunday, Nov. 1, at the Riviera Theatre in Emmetsburg where families participated in an awards program followed by the Disney Pixar movie Coco, complete with party pack for everyone who stayed for the movie.

During the awards program we recognized 4-Hers for their outstanding achievements during the 4-H year. Special congratulations go to: Lex Kassel receiving Galen Smith Memorial Award, Grace Olesen for receiving Noah Flaherty Memorial Award, Maggie Nelson receiving R.W. Ashby Outstanding 4-Her Award, Aliza Woodford receiving Jeanette Anthe Outstanding 4-Her Award, and Logan Studer and Rebecca Licht receiving Danforth “I Dare You” awards.

Adult volunteers were recognized for giving their time and energy so that the 4-H program could have an impact on the lives of young people. Leaders who reached milestones this year were David Bolte, 10 years with 4-H Shooting Sports Club; Bert Naig; 15 years with 4-H Shooting Sports Club; Joel Thomsen, 20 years with Independence Boosters 4-H Club; and Devona Perkins, 20 years as a past leader for the Junior Clippers 4-H Club and presently a project workshop leader helping initiate and lead countywide workshops.

Thank You to everyone who attended the awards program and a special shout out to the Riviera Theatre for working with us to provide a place where we could social distance and enjoy a snack while watching a family movie on the big screen. Thanks, also, to the Palo Alto County 4-H Foundation for helping fund this event.

Read the full article in The Democrat.