homepage logo

Vocalists Selected For OPUS Honor Choir

By Staff | Oct 22, 2015

OPUS HONOR?CHOIR - These four Emmetsburg Middle School vocalists will participate in the OPUS?All State event next month in Ames. From left toright are Jonah Hacbart-Morlock, Tatum Iverson, Annie Brennan and Max Miller. -- Dan Voigt photo

Emmetsburg seventh graders Tatum Iverson and Jonah Hackbart-Morlock, along with eighth graders Annie Brennnan and Max Miller, were recently selected for participation in the thirtieth annual Opus Honor Choir Festival. Over 3,000 students were nominated by their directors for 720 positions in the four Opus Honor Choirs. Selections were made by means of a recorded audition.

Guest conductors of the choirs include Ernest Reineke of Lincoln Intermediate School, Mason City Community Schools as the director for the Fifth and Sixth Grade Elementary Honor Choir. Douglas Poppen, of North Fayette Valley Middle and High School, West Union, will direct the Seventh and Eighth Grade Bass Clef Honor Choir. Hannah Ryan of Johnston High School, Johnston Community Schools, will direct the Seventh and Eighth grade Treble Clef Honor Choir and Julie Schnieders, retired choir director from Indianola High School, will direct the Ninth Grade Mixed Honor Choir.

The 2015 Opus Honor Choirs will perform at 4:00 p.m. November 19th in C.Y. Stephens Auditorium, located in the Iowa State Center in Ames.

The Opus Honor Choir Festival is presented by the Iowa Choral Directors Association, Inc.