homepage logo

Contested Elections On City Ballots

By Staff | Sep 22, 2015

A trio of contested elections will highlight the November 3 City Elections in Emmetsburg, while in the other communities of Palo Alto County, write-ins will fill several vacancies. For the city of Curlew, the entire ballot will be filled by a write-in campaign, following the official close of the filing period for municipal electrions last Thursday, Sept. 17.

Emmetsburg Ballot

The race for Mayor in Emmetsburg will feature incumbent Myrna Heddinger seeking re-election. Challenging Heddinger for the mayor’s seat will be Stacy Berkland and John F. Schad.

Incumbent Bill Burdick will run un-opposed for the At-Large Council seat, while incumbent council member Tony Kauten will be challenged by Margay B. Grose for the Ward Two council seat. For Council Ward Four, incumbent council member Corey Gramowski will face challenges from candidates Todd Bell and Shane Paskert.

West Bend Ballot

Incumbent Mayor Marilyn Schutz will run unopposed for re-election, while in the city council race, three seats will be filled. Linda Thilges will run for one seat along with incumbents Paul Lauck and Joseph Montag, who run for re-election to their seats, Incumbent Susan Traub chose not to seek re-election to her seat.

Additionally, incumbent council member Grant Gearhart is running unopposed to finish out the term of office that he was appointed to fill earlier this year.

Graettinger Ballot

Incumbent Mayor Monty Schany will run unopposed for re-election, and in the city council race for two seats, incumbent council member Christine McGrauth is running unopposed. The second council seat, currently held by Daniel Skattebo, who chose not to seek re-election, will be filled by write-in ballots.

Graettinger voters will also fill a term on the council that was filled by appointment earlier this year. Barbara J. Hoffman is the incumbent who was appointed to the seat, and is running for election to fill out the term.

Ruthven Ballot

Ruthven Mayor David J. Kirk, the incumbent, will run unopposed for re-election to another term of office. The City Council will feature three seats up for election with Sara L. Ferguson seeking the seat currently held by Justin Henningsen, who chose not to seek re-election. Incumbent council members Dustin Johnson and David Forey will seek re-election to their seats on the city council in Ruthven.

Mallard Ballot

The City of Mallard will feature a three-way race for two seats on the city council. Tara Hoch is seeking election to the council, along with incumbent council members Troy Auten and Glen Simonson.

Ayrshire Ballot

There is no announced candidate for Mayor in Ayrshire, as Michael Garrelts chose not to run for re-election, so the post will be filled by write-in. Additionally, three council seats are up for election. Incumbents Jennifer Buettner, Chad Buettner and Leo Brownfield all chose not to seek re-election to the Ayrshire City Council. Only two individuals have filed for the three council seats; Anesa McGregor and Brandon Smith, leaving the third council seat in Ayrshire to be filled by a write-in on the ballot.

Cylinder Ballot

Incumbent Mayor Arnold C. Heng will run for re-election, while five council seats are up for election. Two incumbent council members, Sarah Bonnstetter and Beth Elman did not file for re-election to their seats, leaving incumbent council members Kurt Bonnstetter , Harry Bormann and Kevin D. Long to seek re-election, along with candidate Deb Weisbrod seeking one seat. The fifth council seat will be filled by write-ins on the ballot.

Rodman Ballot

A write-in effort will be required to fill the position of Mayor for the City of Rodman, current Mayor Jean Hyslop chose not to run for re-election to the position.

Voters in Rodman will have five council seats up for election, with incumbent council members Ronald Thilges and Sean Leners both choosing not to run for re-election to their positions. Lee Leners seeking one seat along with incumbents Mark Besch, Danny Hutchison and Rose Merideth. The remaining council position will be filled by write-in on the ballot.

Curlew Ballot

The community of Curlew will be looking to replace the entire city government unit in the election, as Mayor John Keller chose not to seek re-election to his post. Current city council members Catherine Stanek, Brent Cooke, Richard Weig, Dana Igou and Robby Johnson also chose not to seek re-election to the council, which will require Curlew residents to write in for the five council positions and mayor.

The Municipal Elections will take place on Tuesday, Nov. 3. All Council and Mayor’s terms are four years.