homepage logo

Lone Contest In School Board Elections

By Staff | Aug 4, 2015

The upcoming school board elections in September won’t feature many contested elections in Palo Alto County, but voters in the Ruthven-Ayrshire Community School District will have to fill two seats on the board through write-in campaigns. The final day to file nomination papers for the Spetember 8 school board elections was on Friday, July 31.

The lone school board election that will feature a contest will be in the Ruthven-Ayrshire Community School District, where only two nomination petitions were filed for the four seats up for election. The positions of Tracy Enderson, Larry J. Conlon, Katie Meyer and Ray Grandstaff are up for election, but only incumbent Tracy Enderson filed nomination papers for re-election to her seat on the board.

Heather Ruehle of Ruthven also filed papers to run for one of the other three seats, as Conlon, Meyer and Grandstaff all chose not to seek re-election to the Ruthven-Ayrshire School Board. Voters will have to fill the remaining two vacant seats through write-in ballots on Sept. 8.

In Emmetsburg, all four incumbent school board members filed nomination papers for re-election to their seats on the Emmetsburg Community School District’s Board of Directors. The incumbent board members running for re-election are Kathleen Roethler, BJ Schany, Rick Brennan and Scott Kibbie.

The Graettinger-Terril Community School Board will feature three seats up for election and two incumbent board members filed nomination papers for re-election to their positions. Incumbent’s Kevin Jensen of Graettinger and Galen Chicoine of Terril will be joined on the ballot by Jeremiah DePyper of Graettinger, who will run to fill the seat currently held by Roger Schmitt, who chose not to seek re-election to the board.

The West Bend-Mallard Community School District will also have four seats on the board up for election and will have three incumbent board members seeking re-election to their seats for another term. Filing nomination papers were incumbent board members Dawn Schmidt, John Zaugg and Dr. Jillian Hansen, while board member Mark Collins elected not to run for re-election. Filling nomination papers for the final vacant seat on the West Bend-Mallard School Board was Nicole Meyer of Curlew.

School Board elections will be held Tuesday, Sept. 8, with voting in each com