homepage logo

Races Develop in School Board Elections

By Staff | Aug 6, 2013

by Jane Whitmore

Nomination papers have been filed with the Palo Alto County Auditor’s Office for the September School Elections.

Races have developed for positions on the Emmetsburg and West Bend-Mallard school boards.


Voters in Emmetsburg Community School District will vote for three candidates from a field of six.

Incumbents Kim Campbell of Emmetsburg and Tamara Naig of Emmetsburg are seeking re-election. Also on the ballot are Linda Mathis Tienter of Emmetsburg, Jesse Wolfe of Emmetsburg, Terry Manwarren of Emmetsburg and Rick Bird of Emmetsburg.

Incumbent School Board member Karla Anderson is not seeking re-election.

Emmetsburg School District voters will also vote on a public measure.

Question: To adopt the revenue purpose statement to authorize the expenditure of revenues from the State of Iowa secure an advanced vision for education fund received by the Emmetsburg Community School District.

West Bend-Mallard

Voters in the West Bend-Mallard Community School District will vote for three candidates from a field of four.

Wendell Schmidt of West Bend is the sole incumbent seeking re-election. Also on the ballot are Mike Thatcher of West Bend, David Bruellman of West Bend and Philip Dahlhauser of West Bend.

Incumbents Doug Schwartzkopf and Pat Vonnahme are not seeking re-election.


Voters in the Graettinger-Terril Community School District will elect two. Incumbents Mathew Hanson of Terril and Kyle Norris of Graettinger are seeking re-election unopposed.


Voters in the Ruthven-Ayrshire Community School District will elect three candidates. However, only two candidates filed nomination papers. One position must now be filled by write-in.

Incumbent Susan Sikora of Ruthven is seeking re-election. Darin Malm of Ruthven is also on the ballot.

Incumbents Tammy Chapman and Barry Fischer are not seeking re-election.

Voters will have two public measures to consider:

Question:?Instructional Support Levy

Question: Physical Plant and Equipment Levy.

Iowa Lakes

Community College

Voters in Emmetsburg, Ruthven-Ayrshire and West Bend-Mallard Districts will vote for Director from Iowa Lakes Community College, District 6.

Incumbent Patrick Kibbie of Emmetsburg is running unopposed for that position.

Elections will also be held in District 3 and District 8.

September 10 Election

School Elections will be held Tuesday, Sept. 10. The polls will be open from 12 noon to 8 p.m. Voters can also cast their ballots at the Palo Alto County Auditor’s Office between 8 and 11 a.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 10.