homepage logo

Supervisors Make Committee Appointments And Designate Township Trustees

By Staff | Jan 8, 2013

With the advent of a New Year, the Palo Alto County Board of Supervisors made several appointments and committee assignments during the first meeting of the year on Jan. 2.

Board Chair Ron Graettinger was re-appointed to the Decategorization Board, while Supervisor Keith Wirtz was re-appointed to the county’s Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) Compliance Board.

The Supervisors also reappointed county residents as members of the Eminent Domain Compensation Board during the session and then re-appointed Dr. Dan Nesheim of Mallard and Pam Studer of Graettinger to positions on the County Local Health Board. Allen Stangl and Ayrshire and Clayton Helgeson of Emmetsburg were both re-appointed to terms on the Palo Alto County Planning and Zoning Board of Adjustment by the Supervisors.

Board Chair Ron Graettinger was re-appointed to serve on the Upper Des Moines Opportunity Board and the Compass Point Board, with newly-elected Supervisor Linus Solberg being named as the alternate to both boards. Supervisor Jerry Hofstad was re-appointed to the Enterprise Zone Board, while Supervisor Ed Noonan was appointed to the Central Iowa Juvenile Detention Center Board, with Hofstad as his alternate. The board also re-appointed Miriam Patton to serve on the Resource Conservation and Development (RC&D) Board, along with Wirtz.

The Supervisors re-affirmed a rate of $8 per hour plus mileage as allowed by the Internal Revenue Service for Township Trustees’ compensation, and set a minimum fee of $20 for meetings of the trustees. And also re-appointed trustees: Allen Stangl and Deryll Brodersen in Booth Township; Howard Morey and Gary Anderson in Ellington Township; Bob Soenen and April Soenen in Emmetsburg Township; Byron Anliker and John Banwart in Fern Valley Township; Jeff Stillman and Gene Opheim in Emmetsburg Township; Patrick Kibbie and Bruce Johnson in Great Oak Township; Duane Meyer and James Schoning in Highland Township; Curt Berkland and Mark McGrauth in Lost Island Township; Lance Bruch and Kenneth O. Sikora in Nevada Township; Vernon White in Rush Lake Township; Ritchie L. Berkland and Gerald Twait in Vernon Township and Steven Dobbins and Gary Swanson in Walnut Township.