homepage logo

College Board Of Trustees Reorganizes

By Staff | Oct 23, 2012

Reorganization of the board was the primary task for the Board of Trustees of Iowa Lakes Community College during its monthly meeting Oct. 23 in Estherville. Jan Lund was elected to serve as president of the board with Pat Kibbie of Emmetsburg being elected to serve as the vice president of the trustees.

President Lund made several appointments as well, including naming Scot Bauermeister as the trustees’ Legal counsel and Clark Marshall as acting board secretary until Oct. 31 when Tony Condon will assume the duties. In a final appointment, Bob L’Heureux was re-appointed treasurer for the college.

With reorganizational chores out of the way, the trustees were introduced to the Student Senators from the various campuses of the college and several graduate assistants who are working with students.

In an update on the activities of the Iowa Lakes Foundation, Jolene Rogers, executive director of institutional advancement, explained that 2012 events had concluded, generating a little over $49,000, which amounts to 13 percent of foundation money. The trustees were also briefed on the college employees’ “We Believe” campaign, the annual fundraising effort of the institution’s employees for scholarship programs.

In the Iowa Lakes update, Jane Campbell, executive director of marketing, informed the trustees that the nursing program had recently been reaccredited.